Religious Studies: Native American

American Indian Resources Index

Arctic Circle Home Page

Center for World Indigenous Studies

Eastern Woodland Native Americans

Encyclopedia Mythica

• An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend. Covers a variety of cultures and time periods.

Facts on the American Indian and Alaskan Native Population

Cultural Groups: Native Americans

Native American Consultation Database

• The Native American Consultation Database (NACD) provides an easy way to identify contacts for each of the 771 federally recognized Indian tribes, Alaska Native corporations, and Native Hawaiian organizations. You can search for contacts by name, tribe, reservation, state, country, and military installation.

History of the Cherokee

Humanities and Social Services On-Line (H-Net): American Indian Discussion Lists

Links to Native American Reference Sites (Phil Konstantin)

Mashantucket Pequot Museum

Oxford Reference Online  

• Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures

National Museum of the American Indian (Smithsonian)

Native American Sites (Lisa Mitten)

Native American Arts, Culture, and Humanities (Tahtonka)

Native American Lore Index Page

Native American Nations

Native American Resources (CMMR)

Native Web

Religion Gateway

• Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

Storytellers: Native American Authors Online

Studies in American Indian Literature

Please continue your search in the online catalog.

These call numbers should help you browse the shelves.

200 Religion
201 Religious mythology & social theology
210 Philosophy & theory of religion
211 Concepts of God
290 Other religions
299 Religions not provided for elsewhere
305 Social groups
900 History & geography

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

• Online archive of sacred texts from many of the world's religions. Scroll down the left side and click on a tradition.
• Native American Texts
• Shamanism Texts

Census Statistics from American Indian and Alaskan Native Populations

National NAGPRA Database

• Archeological collections in U.S. museums have often contained human remains, unassociated funerary objects, sacred objects, and objects of cultural patrimony of Native American tribes.
• The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act was enacted in 1990 to address the care and repatriation of many of these items. This database provides extensive information about the Act, the NAGPRA Review Committee, the notices of inventory completion and intent to repatriate, and much more.