Banner Image

Writing & Citing: Writing & Citing

The Delgado Writing Center

Writing Center is located in Isaac Delgado Hall (City Park, Bldg. 1), Room 216W. Please call 504-671-6338 for updates.

- Tutoring Services: One-to-one tutoring is available on a walk-in basis (no appointment necessary) to students enrolled in English Composition courses and other writing-related courses at Delgado.

- Grammar Skills Materials: Grammar diagnostics and materials, including audio tapes and computer software, are available in the Writing Center to assist students in improving their English grammar skills.

- Writing Center Computer Lab: Computer Lab Services are available for students enrolled in English composition and writing-related courses who are working on writing projects and research. Only writing-related projects may be printed in this lab. 

**Note: In order to print in the Writing Center Computer Lab, students must swipe their Delgado PIcture ID Card. These cards are issued to all registered students in the Bldg 1 Annex, Rm 127W, City Park Campus from 8-4:30pm Monday-Friday.

Books About Writing

Books About Citing

English Grammar

The Glossary of English Grammar Terms is a fully cross-referenced English glossary of linguistic and grammatical terms. Each grammar definition contains an explanation and cross-references to other relevant grammar terms.

  • Usable for both native speakers interested in language and linguistics, and students of English as a second language (ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP)
  • English grammar terms of all levels from beginner to advanced.

Plagiarism = Bad

What Is Plagiarism?

You may have already read or heard that plagiarism is “a serious academic offense” (1) and “a form of intellectual dishonesty” (2). But you still may be wondering, What precisely is plagiarism?

Easy Bib

A citation is the information needed to locate the article (or book) you are interested in reading.

For articles, a complete citation generally includes:

  • The author's name
  • The title of the article
  • The name of the magazine or journal in which it is located
  • The volume number of the magazine or journal (and sometimes the issue number)
  • The page numbers on which the article is located
  • The date when the article was published

For books, a complete citation generally includes:

  • The author's name
  • The title of the book
  • The publication date
  • The city in which the book was published
  • The book's publisher

Citations are also used to help readers of your papers go to the information you used.

EasyBib: the bibliography maker.

Grammar Girl

Grammar Girl provides short, friendly tips to improve your writing. Covering the grammar rules and word choice guidelines that can confound even the best writers, Grammar Girl makes complex grammar questions simple with memory tricks to help you recall and apply those troublesome grammar rules. - See more at: http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl#sthash.FQSKwwg6.dpuf
Grammar Girl provides short, friendly tips to improve your writing. Covering the grammar rules and word choice guidelines that can confound even the best writers, Grammar Girl makes complex grammar questions simple with memory tricks to help you recall and apply those troublesome grammar rules. - See more at: http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl#sthash.FQSKwwg6.dpuf
Grammar Girl provides short, friendly tips to improve your writing. Covering the grammar rules and word choice guidelines that can confound even the best writers, Grammar Girl makes complex grammar questions simple with memory tricks to help you recall and apply those troublesome grammar rules. - See more at: http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl#sthash.FQSKwwg6.dpuf
Grammar Girl provides short, friendly tips to improve your writing. Covering the grammar rules and word choice guidelines that can confound even the best writers, Grammar Girl makes complex grammar questions simple with memory tricks to help you recall and apply those troublesome grammar rules. - See more at: http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl#sthash.FQSKwwg6.dpuf
Grammar Girl provides short, friendly tips to improve your writing. Covering the grammar rules and word choice guidelines that can confound even the best writers, Grammar Girl makes complex grammar questions simple with memory tricks to help you recall and apply those troublesome grammar rules. - See more at: http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl#sthash.FQSKwwg6.dpuf
Grammar Girl provides short, friendly tips to improve your writing. Covering the grammar rules and word choice guidelines that can confound even the best writers, Grammar Girl makes complex grammar questions simple with memory tricks to help you recall and apply those troublesome grammar rules. - See more at: http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl#sthash.FQSKwwg6.dpuf