Religious Studies: East Asian

Encyclopedia Mythica

• An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend. Covers a variety of cultures and time periods.

Gale Reference Library

• Encyclopedia of Religion
• Encyclopedia of Philosophy
• Contemporary American Religion
• Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions
• Encyclopedia of Buddhism
• Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
• Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices

International Research Institute for Zen Buddhism

Literati (Credo Reference)

• Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
• Critical Terms for the Study of Buddhism
• Critical Terms for Religious Studies
• Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend
• Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion

Online Index of Chinese Buddhism

Oxford Reference Online  

• Oxford Dictionary of Buddhism
• Oxford Dictionary of Hinduism
• Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
• Dictionary of Asian Mythology

Religion Gateway

• Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

Religious Studies Conferences Worldwide

• Links to upcoming conferences.

Sera Monastery Project

• The Sera Project is a research and pedagogical initiative employing state-of-the-art digital technology in the service of creating the most comprehensive, interactive, multimedia database of a Tibetan Buddhist monastery ever attempted.

Shin Dharma Net

• The purpose and mission of this website is to share information concerning Shin Buddhist tradition and Pure Land Buddhism as it is presently practiced and interpreted by Shin communities in the West and Japan.

SARAI: South Asia Resource Access on the Internet

• Columbia University's premiere South Asianist Internet gateway.

South Asia Resources

• This UC Berkeley library site links to various bibliographies and webliographies of interest to South Asianists.

The Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center

• Digitized resources about Tibetan Buddhism, including reference materials and a research center.

Tibetan and Himalayan Digital Library

Vedic Hinduism (PDF)

• General introduction to the Veda: texts, myths, ritual, religion. Written by Michael Witzel and Stephanie Jamieson.

Virtual Religion Index

• Buddhist Studies
• East Asia
• Hindu Studies

Please continue your search in the online catalog.

These call numbers should help you browse the shelves.

200 Religion
201 Religious mythology & social theology
210 Philosophy & theory of religion
211 Concepts of God
290 Other religions
294 Religions of Indic origin
299 Religions not provided for elsewhere
900 History & geography

Encyclopedia of Shinto

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (East Asian-based, multi-lingual)

Nitartha international Rangjung Yeshe Tibetan-English Dictionary

Diamond Way Tibetan-English-Dictionary of Buddhist Teaching & Practice

Online Tibetan Translation Tool

The THDL Tibetan Collaborative Dictionaries

The Pali Text Society Pali-English Dictionary

Cappeller's Sanskrit-English Dictionary

Society for Asian and Comparative Philosophy

• The SACP was established in 1967 as a nonprofit organization aimed at advancing the development of the disciplines of Asian and comparative philosophy in the international academic arena, and bringing together Asian and Western philosophers for a mutually beneficial exchange of ideas.

Society for Buddhist-Christian Studies

• The Society for Buddhist-Christian Studies was founded in 1987 to provide an ongoing organization for those committed to study, reflection, interchange, and practice arising out of Buddhist-Christian encounters..

Asian Classic Input Project

World Civilizations Resource Center

Chinese Buddhist Electronic Text Association

Historical Text Archive

• Provides high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects.

Internet Sacred Texts Archive : Online archive of sacred texts from many of the world's religions. Scroll down the left side and click on a tradition.

• Buddhist Texts
• Hindu Texts
• Shinto Texts
• Confucian Texts
• Jain Texts