Religious Studies: Islam

Foundation of Iranian Studies Resources

• Resources include THE CONCISE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF IRAN (in Persian), Library & Pahlavi Archives, Legal Documents, and the FIS Online Oral History Collection (requires registration)

Gale Reference Library

• Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
• Encyclopedia of World Cultures
• Encyclopedia of Religion
• International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
• Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
• Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
• World Eras
• Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
• Countries and Their Cultures

Historical Text Archive

• Provides high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects.

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

• Online archive of sacred texts from many of the world's religions. Scroll down the left side and click on a tradition.
• Islamic Texts

The Koran

• University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative
• English translation by Shakir

Literati (Credo Reference) Library

• Need to Know? Islam
• Reformist Voices of Islam: Mediating Islam and Modernity
• Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Fundamental Themes

The Noble Qur'an

• MSA, USC
• Three English translations by Yusuf Ali, Pickthall, and Shakir. Commentary by Maududi

The Noble Quran

• Arabic text with English translations by Shakir and Yusufali; English commentary by Pooya

Oxford Reference

• The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
• The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
  
• The Oxford Dictionary of Islam
• A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, 3rd Ed.

ALTAFSIR.COM

• English translation of Tafsir al-Jalalayn and Tafsir Ibn 'Abbas

al-Mizan: an Exegesis of the holy Qur'an by Muhammad Husayn Tabatab'i

Digital Library of Arabic Heritage Books (al-Hakawati)

Women in Islamic Societies: a Selected Review of Social Scientific Literature

• Report prepared November 2005 by Priscilla Offenhauer for the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress (.pdf)

The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture

Please continue your search in the online catalog.

These call numbers should help you browse the shelves.

200 Religion
201 Religious mythology & social theology
210 Philosophy & theory of religion
211 Concepts of God
290 Other religions
297 Islam, Babism & Bahai Faith
299 Religions not provided for elsewhere
305 Social groups
900 History & geography

Encyclopaedia Iranica

• Articles on people, places, terms, and topics dealing with Iranian culture
• NOTE: You will need to download special fonts before you can search.
• This version offers access to the articles, but not searching. 
• Print Version: REF DS253.E53 1982

ORB--Online Encyclopedia for Medieval Studies

• Online encyclopedias, other reference works and links for study of the Medieval Period.

Religion Gateway

• Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

Religion & Philosophy Collection

Virtual Religion Index

• Islamic Tradition

Islam for Today

• This site is written for non-Muslims to gain an understanding about Islam. In an effort to debunk stereotypes, the site contains information about the status of women in Islam

Islam Online

• A current events and culture site in English and Arabic.