Here are examples of some of the books available in our collection. Please continue your search in the online catalog. To learn more about searching the catalog, watch this video.
Black Masculinity and the U. S. South by
This pathbreaking study of region, race, and gender reveals how we underestimate the South's influence on the formation of black masculinity at the national level. Many negative stereotypes of black men--often contradictory ones--have emerged from the ongoing historical traumas initiated by slavery. Are black men emasculated and submissive or hypersexed and violent? Nostalgic representations of black men have arisen as well: think of the philosophical, hardworking sharecropper or the abiding, upright preacher. To complicate matters, says Riché Richardson, blacks themselves appropriate these images for purposes never intended by their (mostly) white progenitors. Starting with such well-known caricatures as the Uncle Tom and the black rapist, Richardson investigates a range of pathologies of black masculinity that derive ideological force from their associations with the South. Military policy, black-liberation discourse, and contemporary rap, she argues, are just some of the instruments by which egregious pathologies of black masculinity in southern history have been sustained. Richardson's sources are eclectic and provocative, including Ralph Ellison's fiction, Charles Fuller's plays, Spike Lee's films, Huey Newton's and Malcolm X's political rhetoric, the O. J. Simpson discourse, and the music production of Master P, the Cash Money Millionaires, and other Dirty South rappers. Filled with new insights into the region's role in producing hierarchies of race and gender in and beyond their African American contexts, this new study points the way toward more epistemological frameworks for southern literature, southern studies, and gender studies.
The Blind Goddess by
Blind Goddess brings together the most significant writings of practitioners, professors, and advocates to make sense of what is perhaps the nation’s most astonishing and shameful achievement: the highest per capita incarceration of its citizens anywhere in the world, compounded by the shockingly disproportionate imprisonment of poor people of color. Although there is growing awareness of the huge fiscal cost of mass incarceration, the moral, human, and social devastation of racially skewed law enforcement remains largely unrecognized. The experts and scholars in this collection elucidate the impact of race on each stage of the criminal process, from policing and prosecuting to jury selection, sentencing, prison conditions, and opportunities to reenter society. Including selections from critically acclaimed New Press books such as The New Jim Crow, Let’s Get Free, and Race to Incarcerate, alongside passages from other leading contemporary works, from Amy Bach’s Ordinary Injustice to Robert Perkinson’s Texas Tough, Blind Goddess provides easy access to a wealth of cutting-edge analyses and solutions. An essential volume for the general reader, Blind Goddess is also an ideal reality-check for students of criminal law.
The Concise St. Martin's Guide to Writing by 
English Grammar: understanding the basics by
This text is designed to help readers learn about English grammar in as simple and straightforward a way as possible. The authors use a friendly and encouraging tone and easy to understand language with a minimum of terminology, helping readers to overcome "grammar phobia." The book can be used alone or as part of a course. It assumes no prior knowledge of grammar. Using a workbook approach, the present information in small steps, with objective techniques to help readers apply new concepts. Numerous exercises, with answers, allow readers to test themselves after information is presented. "Quick Tips" provide convenient "tricks" to help readers master the material and also highlight the main concepts in each lesson. Short sections called "To Enhance Your Understanding" are for readers who are interested in more than basic information. Overall, the text provides readers with an important learning experience as well as a useful reference book. Resources within the text: * numerous exercises with answers allow readers to test themselves after new information is presented; exercises gradually incorporate more knowledge while building on prior information; * "Quick Tips" that help mastery of the material and highlight the main points provide "tricks" to help readers master the material and help readers focus on the main points of each lesson; * "To Enhance Your Understanding" sections for readers who want more than the basics provide further information for readers interested in more than the basics; can be skipped by beginners; * an extensive glossary for easy reference; * answers to the "Getting Started" section of each exercise. Resources on the companion website: *Table of Contents: provides readers with an overview of the contents; *searchable index: allows readers to look for specific information; *sample lesson *review exercises for each unit, with answers (17 review exercises, each with ten items) allow readers to review and further monitor their progress; *answers to the "More Practice" section of each exercise; *additional exercises, with answers, available only to instructors, for use as homework and/or tests.
English Grammar Simplified by 
The Everyday Language of White Racism by 
Fast Food Nation: the dark side of the all-American meal by 
Fight Global Warming Now: the handbook for taking action in your community by
Bestselling author Bill McKibben turns activist in the first hands-on guidebook to stopping climate change, the world's greatest threat Hurricane Katrina. A rapidly disappearing Arctic. The warmest winter on the East Coast in recorded history. The leading scientist at NASA warns that we have only ten years to reverse climate change; the British government's report on global warming estimates that the financial impact will be greater than the Great Depression and both world wars--combined. Bill McKibben, the author of the first major book on global warming,The End of Nature, warns that it's no longer time to debate global warming, it's time to fight it. Drawing on the experience of Step It Up, a national day of rallies held on April 14, McKibben and the Step It Up team of organizers provide the facts of what must change to save the climate and show how to build the fight in your community, church, or college. They describe how to launch online grassroots campaigns, generate persuasive political pressure, plan high-profile events that will draw media attention, and other effective actions. This essential book offers the blueprint for a mightynew movement against the most urgent challenge facing us today.
These Hands I Know: African-American writers on family by
These Hands I Know offers readers the first-ever intimate view of the inner workings of black family life from the point of view of prose and poetry writers. This collection of seventeen essays includes portraits of fathers, mothers, nieces, brothers, grandparents, husbands, wives, and daughters--in short the full spectrum of absolute humanity in contemporary black families. Here, in letter form, a man speaks to his aunt, the family matriarch. A daughter rejects her father's ideas of African-American identity. A young woman holds her niece in her hands for the very first time. And a son faces his father as an old man and finally comes to terms with his failings. These Hands I Know seeks to gather a resolutely honest picture of family life, however painful or joyous that truth may be. "Family life is an insistent vessel traveling the space of our struggles to love and to be loved. . . . Africans and their descendants in America have always been nothing more and nothing less than human. If anything is constant and universal, it is suffering--personal, social, and political. If these essays offer anything, it is the affirmation of humanity."--From the Introduction by Afaa Michael Weaver Marketing Plans: Advertisements in key literary and trade magazines Newsletter, brochure, catalog, and postcard mailings Reader copies available to booksellers through participation in Book Sense Advance Access Program Contributors include: Fred D'Aguiar Tara Betts Gwendolyn Brooks Karen Chandler Edwidge Danticat Jarvis Q. DeBerry Gerald Early Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Lise Funderburg Walter Warren Harper Honorée Fanonne Jeffers Trent Masiki E. Ethelbert Miller Marilyn Nelson Kalamu ya Salaam Della Scott Alice Walker Also available by Afaa Michael Weaver Multitudes: Poems Selected and New TC $24.00, 1-889330-40-X * CUSA TP $14.95, 1-889330-41-8 * CUSA
Thirteen Stories by
Thirteen outstanding short stories by Welty, written between 1937 and 1951. Miss Welty has written some of the finest short stories of modern times; (Orville Prescott, New York Times). Selected and with an Introduction by Ruth M. Vande Kieft.
The Warmth of Other Suns: the epic story of America's great migration by
One of The New York Times Book Review's 10 Best Books of the Year In this epic, beautifully written masterwork, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Isabel Wilkerson chronicles one of the great untold stories of American history: the decades-long migration of black citizens who fled the South for northern and western cities, in search of a better life. From 1915 to 1970, this exodus of almost six million people changed the face of America. Wilkerson compares this epic migration to the migrations of other peoples in history. She interviewed more than a thousand people, and gained access to new data and official records, to write this definitive and vividly dramatic account of how these American journeys unfolded, altering our cities, our country, and ourselves. nbsp; With stunning historical detail, Wilkerson tells this story through the lives of three unique individuals: Ida Mae Gladney, who in 1937 left sharecropping and prejudice in Mississippi for Chicago, where she achieved quiet blue-collar success and, in old age, voted for Barack Obama when he ran for an Illinois Senate seat; sharp and quick-tempered George Starling, who in 1945 fled Florida for Harlem, where he endangered his job fighting for civil rights, saw his family fall, and finally found peace in God; and Robert Foster, who left Louisiana in 1953 to pursue a medical career, the personal physician to Ray Charles as part of a glitteringly successful medical career, which allowed him to purchase a grand home where he often threw exuberant parties. Wilkerson brilliantly captures their first treacherous and exhausting cross-country trips by car and train and their new lives in colonies that grew into ghettos, as well as how they changed these cities with southern food, faith, and culture and improved them with discipline, drive, and hard work. Both a riveting microcosm and a major assessment, The Warmth of Other Suns is a bold, remarkable, and riveting work, a superb account of an "unrecognized immigration" within our own land. Through the breadth of its narrative, the beauty of the writing, the depth of its research, and the fullness of the people and lives portrayed herein, this book is destined to become a classic.
These call numbers should help you browse the shelves.
300 Social sciences
305 Social groups
306 Culture & institutions
400 Language
420 English & Old English
421 English writing system & phonology
422 English etymology
423 English dictionaries
425 English grammar
800 Literature & rhetoric
809 Literary history & criticism
810 American literature in English
820 English & Old English literature
Reserve materials (books, articles, videos, etc.) have been set aside at the library by faculty members for use by the students of Delgado Community College. The materials are owned by the faculty member who placed them on reserve or the library. These are high-use materials with a shorter loan period to accommodate the demand.
Most reserve materials are limited to 1-2 hours in-library use only while some items may circulate for up to 1-2 days.
*Please be mindful of the loan period*
- Check to see if your book is on reserve. Follow the procedure below:
- Click on "Reserve Desk" above.
- In the box provided, you may Lookup items by Instructor, Course ID, or Course Name.
- Type in the information for your search and click on the appropriate button.
You may also limit your search to which campus you would like to search.
Click on the drop down arrow next to house icon and choose the Reserve Desk at a specific campus.
The Delgado Community College Writing and Research Handbook was written by Delgado faculty Sean Munro and Monica Mankin.
It is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0), and is considered an Open Educational Resource (OER). Please see our guide for more information about Open Educational Resources.
