Below are a few titles in our collection. Continue your search in our online catalog or the EBSCOhost eBooks database. To learn about searching this database, check out this video.
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagarism by
Why is there so much emphasis on citing sources in some written work? How can I be sure I am referencing sources correctly? What is plagiarism and how do I avoid it? There is a great deal of emphasis on accurate referencing in written work for university students, and those writing for professional purposes, but little information on the ‘when’, the ‘why’, as well as the ‘how’ of referencing. This book fills that gap, giving clear guidelines on how to correctly cite from external sources, what constitutes plagiarism, and how it can be avoided.A unique feature of the book is the comparisons it makes between different referencing styles - such as Harvard, APA, MLA and Numerical referencing styles - which are shown side-by-side. This provides a useful guide, for students as they progress through higher education, and particularly for those on combined studies courses - who may be expected to use two, and sometimes three, different referencing styles.Other special features in the book include: Essays demonstrating referencing in action Exercises on when to reference, and on what is, and what is not, plagiarism A ‘Frequently Asked Questions’ section on the referencing issues that most often puzzle people A detailed guide to referencing electronic sources, and advice on how to choose reliable Internet sites A Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarismis essential reading for all students and professionals who need to use referencing to accurately reflect the work of others and avoid plagiarism.
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature by
Offers both a survey of literary themes and a collection of in-depth analyses of how these themes operate in individual literary works. Part I of this comprehensive set contains essays on 50 prominent literary themes, with each essay describing how the theme has evolved over time, how it relates to other important themes, and why this theme is powerful enough to recur so often in great literature. Part II contains essays on specific themes in more than 300 individual classic works of literature. Each section on a particular work contains a brief introduction to the work as well as three essays on different literary themes within the work. Themes covered include alienation, coming of age, heroism, innocence and experience, race, science and technology, and more. A helpful index and cross-references round out this invaluable set for students of literature.  Literary works covered include: Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (related themes: gender, love, pride) Emily Dickinson's poems (related themes: death, nature, spirituality) Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man (related themes: identity, memory, race) F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby (related themes: the American dream, identity, social class) Shirley Jackson's "The Lottery" (related themes: individual and society, tradition, violence) Kazuo Ishiguro's The Remains of the Day (related themes: alienation, ethics, regret) Arthur Miller's The Crucible (related themes: alienation, community, spirituality) Edgar Allan Poe's "The Fall of the House of Usher" (related themes: death, identity, illness) William Shakespeare's Hamlet (related themes: death, justice, love).
Food Fray: Inside the Controversy Over Genetically Modified Food by
More than ten years ago, the first genetically modified foods took their place on the shelves of American supermarkets. But while American consumers remained blissfully unconcerned with the new products that suddenly filled their kitchens, Europeans were much more wary of these "Frankenfoods." When famine struck Africa in 2002, several nations refused shipments of genetically modified foods, fueling a controversy that put the issue on the world's political agenda for good. In "Food Fray," esteemed molecular biologist Dr. Lisa H. Weasel brings readers into the center of this debate, capturing the real-life experiences of the scientists, farmers, policymakers and grassroots activists on the front lines. Here she combines solid scientific knowledge and a gripping narrative to tell the real story behind the headlines and the hype. Seminal and cutting-edge, "Food Fray" enlightens and informs and will allow readers to make up their own minds about one of the most important issues facing us today.
How Racism Takes Place by
How racism shapes urban spaces and how African Americans create vibrant communities that offer models for more equitable social arrangements
Images That InjurePictorial Stereotypes in the Media by
This expanded collection of new and fully revised explorations of media content identifies the ways we all have been negatively stereotyped and demonstrates how careful analysis of media portrayals can create more beneficial alternatives. * 33 distinguished authors as well as new voices in the field combine their extensive and varied expertise to explain the social effects of media stereotyping. * Includes historical and contemporary illustrations that range from editorial cartoons to the sinking of the Titanic * Richly illustrated with historical and up-to-date photographic illustrations * Every chapter's content is meticulously supported with numerous sources cited * A glossary defines key words mentioned in the chapters
Fundamental College Composition by 
Learning and Teaching Writing Online: Strategies for Success by 
Why They Can't Write: Killing the Five-Paragraph Essay and Other Necessities by 
