Delgado Community College Libraries: African American History: Finding and Downloading eBooks

How to download by device

To borrow an eReader,

take a look at the eReader page

The eBooks from EBSCOhost and Springer Link can be downloaded and viewed on computers and a variety of eReaders including tablets, Kindles, Nooks, and many more devices.

EBSCOhost

To download books from EBSCOhost eBook Collection you will have to create an account with EBSCO. Follow the EBSCO link, and click "Sign In" near the top-right of the screen.

The maximum time for checking a book out is 7 days (168 hours). The minimum is 1 hour.

Once a book is checked out no one else will be able to access it until the loan expires. The books cannot be returned. Loans automatically expire after the amount of time chosen at checkout has elapsed. If an eBook is needed longer, you will have to download it again.

Springer Link

Full Springer Link eBooks cannot be downloaded. Each chapter/section has to be downloaded separately as a PDF document and saved. When searching for eBooks in Springer Link make sure the box for “Include Preview-Only content” is not checked. These items cannot be downloaded.

If you have a tablet or smartphone that you use as an eReader the library recommends downloading the app Bluefire Reader. It is available for both Android and Apple devices.

Download Instructions for Ebscohost:

On your tablet or smartphone go to the library’s website and there is a link under the catalog search box for eBooks.
Search for the book you want. Then click “Download This eBook (Offline)”. To download you will either have to sign-in or create an account with Ebscohost per the instructionsa above. Then pick the length of time you want to check the book out also per the instructions above.
Click “Checkout and Download”. Open the Bluefire Reader app or any other eReader app you prefer to read the eBook.

Download Instructions for Springer Link:

On your tablet or smartphone open the library’s website and go to Springer Link eBooks found on the title list of databases.
Search for the eBook you want. The book chapters will be separate. Download each chapter or the specific ones wanted. They will be downloaded to your tablet in PDF documents. You can read them in the Adobe Reader app or any other PDF compatible apps including Bluefire

Instructions for EBSCO:

Unfortunately, Kindles cannot download a full eBook from EBSCOhost. Up to 60 pages can be saved as a PDF, then sent as an email, and put on the Kindle.

Search for the book you want and click "eBook Full Text."
Instructions on how to save and email pages from a book are found here.
Amazon has software, "Send to Kindle", that can be downloaded to send the PDF document to the Kindle. Instructions on how to send the pages to your Kindle can be found here. There is also the option to email the document to your Kindle.

Instructions for Springer Link:

The eBooks that are available in Springer Link are all available in PDF. The "Send to Kindle" instructions explained above can also be used for Springer Link.

Search for the book you want.
Download the chapters/sections you want.
Follow the instructions for "Send to Kindle".

Download Instructions for Ebscohost:

Adobe Digital Editions is free software which can be used to view eBooks on Mac and Windows computers. You must register for a free Adobe ID. You can read the eBook on the computer or put it on one of the many compatible devices, including the Nook. A few of the computers in the library have Adobe Digital Editions installed. You will have to sign in with your personal Adobe ID first.

Search for the book you want. Then click “Download This eBook (Offline)”. To download you will either have to sign-in or create an account with Ebscohost. Pick the length of time you want to check the book out.
Click “Checkout and Download”. Open the Adobe Digital Editions and connect your eReader.
Drag and drop the book to your eReader.

Download Instructions for Springer Link:

Springer Link eBooks are compatible with devices that can display PDFs. They can be read on the computer or transferred to an eReader.

Search for the book you want and download the chapters/sections that you want.
Save the file to the computer.
Connect your eReader and copy and paste it to the appropriate folder on your eReader. For example, the Nook device has a folder called "Documents". The file would go there.

About the Collection

The catalog pulls 70,000 records from three main eBook collections:

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Springer’s eBook collection delivers complete access to the largest collection of scientific, technical and medical publications available today. Libraries can offer their patrons online access to worthwhile books instantly from multiple locations, including library, office, home or wherever they are. Springer’s eBook Collection uses the portability, searchability, and unparalleled ease of access of PDF and HTML data formats to make access for researchers, anytime, anywhere and on any device.
Access eBooks from 2009-2012

Individual databases that feed the A to Z collection include:

Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biography (Gale In Context) delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries, on more than 528,000 individuals, spanning history and geography. This database is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content that's updated daily. In it you'll find. biographies from award-winning Gale reference, multi-media content like videos, images, magazines and newspapers, current historical information and topic pages covering the highest-interest features.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History Study Center covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. History Study Center provides over 40,000 documents and articles, with over 50 reference works, 3,000 images and links to 2,000 Web sites.
Learning Express PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LearningExpress Library features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single, elegant gateway users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating back to the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,100,000 records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 820 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 14,636 conference papers.