Below are a few titles in our collection. Continue your search in our online catalog or the EBSCOhost eBooks database. To learn about searching this database, check out this video.
Covid-19: The Essentials of Prevention and Treatment
by
COVID-19: The Essentials of Prevention and Treatment elaborates on the ethology, pathogenesis, epidemiology, clinical characteristics, treatment principles, rehabilitation and prevention, and prevention and control measures for COVID-19. Aimed at healthcare workers, and written to be a practical guide, six chapters cover the following aspects of COVID-19: respiratory viruses; pathogenesis; case definitions and diagnosis; treatment; prevention and disease control; and prospects for the management and research of respiratory virus infections. This book gives first-hand information on the prevention, control, diagnosis and treatment of COVID-19. COVID-19 was recognized as a pandemic in March 2020 by the World Health Organization. It is a disease caused by severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2). Physicians working in China, particularly where the outbreak was first identified in Wuhan, have built up knowledge of prevention and control measures, and diagnosis and treatment of this disease. These insights are now globally relevant. The authors of this book are senior physicians specializing in respiratory diseases, pulmonary diseases and critical care medicine, and are all clinical and scientific research experts working in China, with particular experience in Wuhan. Describes the prevention, control, diagnosis and treatment of COVID-19 Offers practical guidance to healthcare professionals for COVID-19 Gives clinical insights in a question and answer format Details first-hand experience in Chinese cities during the initial outbreak Presents insights that healthcare professionals need to prevent, diagnose, and treat COVID-19
Disaster and Respiratory Diseases
by
This book provides valuable data on the outbreak, aggravation, treatment and prevention of respiratory diseases based on prior experiences of natural disasters such as earthquakes and tsunamis. Poor hygiene and air pollution can lead to the onset of pneumonia and other respiratory disease, while a lack of medical supplies aggravates existing pulmonary diseases such as chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and asthma. Furthermore, there are cases where those forced to live in cramped conditions, such as cars, following a disaster have developed pulmonary thromboembolism as a result of deep vein thrombosis. The large numbers of patients diagnosed with respiratory diseases make understanding the links between natural disasters and pulmonary disease vital. Disaster and Respiratory Diseases is a valuable resource for all medical staff, including physicians involved in primary care, respiratory medicine and infection control and emergency medicine, as well as respiratory surgeons. It is also useful to national and regional governments concerned about anti-disaster measures. ​
Pediatric Pulmonology, Asthma, and Sleep Medicine: a Quick Reference Guide
by
This new rapid reference guide provides the latest information on common respiratory disorders seen in practice, with full coverage of asthma management, sleep disorders, and more. Includes more than 100 images to aid in problem-solving and diagnosis! Content is presented in a concise, bulleted template featuring algorithms, tables, and figures that make it easy to find key information to aid in diagnosis and treatment. Topics include: Evaluation of Children With Respiratory Disease Anatomic Disorders and Congenital Anomalies of the Airway, Lungs, Pulmonary Vessels, and Chest Wall Asthma and Related Conditions Infections of the Respiratory Tract Pulmonary Function Testing Pharmacological Management Pulmonary and Respiratory Imaging Bronchoscopy Pediatric Sleep Medicine Special expanded sections on asthma, sleep medicine, and respiratory care provide non-specialists with the knowledge needed to effectively treat these often-complicated conditions. Each chapter is presented in a concise, bulleted format with tables and figures that make it easy to locate key information. Also included is direction on when to refer patients who require the care of a pulmonary specialist.
Principles of Respiratory Medicine
by
Section 1 Imaging Techniques and Imaging of the Chest Section 2 Lung Physiology Section 3 Diagnostic and Therapeutic Procedures Section 4 Clinical Approach to Respiratory Disease: Symptoms and Signs Section 5 Pulmonary Tuberculosis Section 6 Infectious Diseases Section 7 Antibiotic Resistance and its Management Section 8 HIV and the Lung Section 9 Tropical Infections Involving the Lung Section 10 Airway Diseases Section 11 Lung Tumors Section 12 Interstitial Lung Diseases and Other Diffuse Lung Diseases Section 13 Pulmonary Vascular Disorders Section 14 Principles of Critical Care Section 15 Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome Section 16 Pulmonary Manifestations of Systemic Diseases Section 17 Diseases of the Pleura Section 18 Diseases of the Mediastinum Section 19 Occupational and Environmental Lung Diseases Section 20 Drug-induced Lung Injuries Section 21 Trauma and Chest Wall Disorders Section 22 Sleep-related Breathing Disorders Index
Respiratory Care: Assessment and Management
by
More than 30% of patients who visit a doctor each year have respiratory complaints. These can range from minor infections (such as the common cold) to chronic obstructive conditions (such as asthma). This helpful book looks at the respiratory problems that nursing and healthcare professionals are most likely to encounter in clinical practice. Beginning with an overview of the respiratory system, the author then discusses history taking, and the physical assessment and secondary tests needed to assess a patient with an undiagnosed respiratory condition. This is followed by chapters on the aetiology, assessment and management of specific acute and chronic conditions, as well as a chapter on the pharmacology of respiratory disease. Finally, the author looks at intermediate, home-based and end of life care. Featuring boxes, tables, diagrams, reader activities, a list of abbreviations and a full glossary, this book offers a holistic and practical approach to caring for a patient with a respiratory disease. Contents include: • Introduction • A quick look at anatomy and physiology • Respiratory assessment • Physical assessment • Secondary data • Acute conditions • Chronic conditions • Self-management • Pharmacology • Intermediate, home-based and end of life care
Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy
by
Time to master the complexities of respiratory care. The newly updated Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 3rd Edition , explains the essentials with humor, expert guidance, and numerous colorful images. Offering the essential terms, skills, and equipment how-to's you need to successfully treat the most common respiratory disorders, this down-to-earth guide helps you grasp respiratory physiology, pathophysiology, and pharmacology in clear and simple language. Prepare for success in the classroom and on the job, with this enjoyable guide to creating positive respiratory outcomes. Grasp the fundamental concepts, skills, and processes of respiratory care ... NEW content on the latest respiratory modalities and updated nursing guidelines Dozens of colorful charts, drawings, and diagrams that make complex respiratory care concepts clear and easy-to-remember Perfect for visual learners --visually demonstrates anatomy and physiology, the components of treatments and when and how to apply them, and the causes, symptoms, and treatment of obstructive, restrictive, vascular, and neoplastic lung disorders Ideal reference and review for nursing students, new nurses, and respiratory therapists, with clear, concise direction on areas such as: Respiratory assessment techniques Diagnostic procedures Airway maintenance Oxygen delivery Chest drainage Suctioning Ventilatory support Treating infection and inflammation Assessing and treating traumatic injuries and other respiratory emergencies Care of patients receiving extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) and end-tidal CO2 monitoring Recognizing an asthma attack Preoperative and postoperative care for patients having a thoracotomy or lung transplant Computed tomography (CT) and x-ray imaging Chapter features that provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Kids' korner --seasoned guidance on caring for pediatric patients Clinical pearls --clear-cut explanations of symptoms and disorders, backed by direction and advice on treatment Advice from the experts --expert input on respiratory care Home care --helpful guidance on teaching patient self-care Breath sounds -- online access to breath sounds Nurses Joy and Jake --Practical advice and experienced insights offered throughout Memory jogger --simple techniques for remembering vital information About the Clinical Editor Rose Knapp, DNP, RN, APN-BC, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner and Associate Graduate Faculty MSN Program Director and APN Program Coordinator at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey.
Covid-19 Airway Management and Ventilation Strategy for Critically Ill Older Patients
by
This book describes the issues and challenges that clinicians encountered in the management of older critically ill patients during the Covid-19 pandemic, and offers practical information on how to manage them. Older adults are more susceptible to complications such as acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) as a result of viral pneumonia. In addition, they often have multiple comorbidities and are commonly frail, which means their various organs and systems, such as the respiratory system, have reduced functional reserves. As such, older adults are less able to react to acute stressors. During the current Covid-19 pandemic, older adult patients' mortality is increased. Further, the infection and death rates of elderly people in nursing homes and health care institutions are high. Management of older adults with Covid is complicated. The reduced availability of beds may limit their access to ICU. Moreover, the prognosis may be poor, and airway management and ventilation strategies have to take into account various clinical and physiological characteristics specific to older patients. This book is addressed to all allied professionals involved in the management of older critically ill patients and presents information collected and practical lessons learned from the clinical daily management of this population during the pandemic.
Pediatric and Neonatal Mechanical Ventilation
by
1. Basics of Mechanical Ventilation 2. Applied Respiratory Physiology of Mechanical Ventilation 3. Pediatric Intensive Care Unit Algorithms 4. Disease Specific Mechanical Ventilation 5. Neonatal Continuous Positive Airway Pressure and Nasal Intermittent Positive Pressure Ventilation 6. High Flow Nasal Cannula Oxygen Therapy 7. Mechanical Ventilation in a Neonate 8. High-Frequency Ventilation in Neonates 9. Newer Modes of Ventilation 10. Noninvasive Ventilation 11. Respiratory Monitoring on Ventilator 12. Capnography and Capnometry 13. Ventilator Graphics 14. Care of the Patient on Ventilator 15. Weaning from Ventilator 16. Extra Corporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO) 17. How to Choose a Ventilator
Respiratory Muscle Strength Training
by
Respiratory Muscle Strength Training is a clinical guide, intended to provide clinicians with the background information they need to understand respiratory muscle strength training (RMST). With a variety of case studies provided by well-known authors and clinicians, this text acts as a guidebook to the RMST protocol and provides practical information for use in the field of healthcare. In addition to real-world case studies, Respiratory Muscle Strength Training includes a chapter devoted to Frequently Asked Questions, a representative sample of the devices commonly used for respiratory training, and instructions for using them in patient care.
Ventilatory Support and Oxygen Therapy in Elder, Palliative and End-Of-Life Care Patients
by
This book provides readers with a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to non-invasive mechanical ventilation in palliative medicine, focusing on why and when it may be necessary. Physicians will find a practical guide to this specific context, particularly focused on pulmonary function and physiology in the elderly, and on ventilatory management in surgery and chronic stable conditions. The book provides detailed information on the rationale for invasive and non-invasive ventilation, the different modes of ventilation, indications and contraindications, prognostic factors, and outcomes. It addresses in detail the role of postoperative mechanical ventilation following various forms of surgery, and discusses key aspects of withdrawal from ventilatory support. Attention is also devoted to the use of mechanical ventilation within and beyond the ICU. The concluding part of the book focuses on important topics such as ethics, legal issues, home mechanical ventilation, drug therapy, rehabilitation and end-of-life. Its multidisciplinary approach, bringing together contributions from international experts in different specialties, ensures that the book will be of interest to a broad range of health professionals involved in the management of older patients admitted to the ICU, including intensivists, anesthesiologists, and geriatricians.
