Respiratory Care: Books

Comprehensive Respiratory Therapy exam preparation guide by Craig L. Scanlan; Al Heuer; Narciso E. Rodriguez Completely updated to reflect the 2015 NBRC TMC and CSE exams, Comprehensive Respiratory Therapy Exam Preparation Guide, Third Edition is an extensive study guide for respiratory therapy students and who are preparing to take the exam. This up-to-date, comprehensive resource provides a thorough overview of all content covered on the exam, while also providing students with test taking strategies and tips. Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access. This provides users with access to the full eBook, Navigate Test Prep, and CSE Simulations. The Test Prep allows students to build their own practice exams by selecting questions for specific topic areas such as Patient Data Evaluation and Recommendations; Troubleshooting and Quality Control of Equipment; and Infection Control, and Initiation and Modification of Interventions. Detailed feedback and question rationales are provided to guide students in their exam preparation. Students can flag questions answered incorrectly to focus on subject areas they are weak in. Numerous CSE Simulations allow students to practice and prepare for the CSE portion of the exam.KEY FEATURES* Robust online Test Prep platform with hundreds of practice questions* Multiple CSE Simulations* "What to Expect on This Category of the NBRC Exam" feature appears at the opening of each chapter* Extensive test taking tips and study strategies* Post Tests at the end of every chapter

Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment by J. M. Cairo The most clinically relevant respiratory care equipment textbook on the market, Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment, 10th Edition employs a "how-to" approach that moves beyond technical descriptions of machinery. Learn to identify equipment, understand how it works, and apply your knowledge to clinical practice with this comprehensive overview of the equipment and techniques used by respiratory therapists to treat cardiopulmonary dysfunction. The 10th edition includes updated information on the latest devices and equipment, which are divided into clearly defined sections including: ventilators, transport, home-care, neonatal and pediatric ventilators, and alternative ventilators. In addition, there's a focus on specific ventilator characteristics such as mode, monitors and displays, alarms and indicators, graphics, special features, and troubleshooting for lesser-used ventilators. UNIQUE! Clinical Approach provides you with a "how-to" guide to identifying equipment, understanding how it works, and applying the information in clinical practice. UNIQUE! List of Ventilators organized by application area and manufacturer make review and research quick and easy. NBRC-style Self-Assessment Questions at the end of every chapter prepares you for credentialing exams. UNIQUE! Infection Control chapter provides a review of this critical topic that RTs must understand to prevent healthcare-associated infections. Excerpts of Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs) give you important information regarding indications/contraindications, hazards and complications, assessment of need, assessment of outcome, and monitoring. Pedagogy includes chapter outlines, learning objectives, key terms, chapter introductions, and bulleted key point summaries to reinforce material and help you to identify relevant content. UNIQUE! Clinical Scenario boxes (formerly Clinical Rounds) allow you to apply material you've learned to a clinical setting. UNIQUE! Historical Notes boxes present educational and/or clinically relevant and valuable historical information of respiratory care equipment. NEW! Thoroughly updated content reflects changes in the NBRC exam. NEW! Updated images and full-color design enhances your understanding of key concepts. NEW! Streamlined device coverage features the basics of the most widely used devices in a clearly segmented and bulleted format for easy access to this key information. NEW! Content on the latest devices and equipment includes: ventilators, transport, home-care, neonatal and pediatric ventilators, and alternative ventilators.

Respiratory Ailments in Context by Mieczyslaw Pokorski (Editor) This book tackles the role of interrelated conditions in the manifestation and course of pulmonary ailments. The articles run the gamut from basic to clinical science on such topics as airway allergy challenges, pulmonary dysfunction due to exposure to environmental pollution, molecular and functional aspects of smoking in lung carcinogenesis and in obstruction-related respiratory disorders, and others. Attention is directed to the developments in rehabilitative and lifestyle interventions in chronic disabilities, particularly involving neuromotor and stress-related conditions which, with advancing age, may lead to the deterioration of ventilation, with hypoxic sequelae. Enhanced research and awareness concerning the lung health drive better treatments and quality of life. Clinical insights presented in the book underscore a major role played by the science in transmuting biomedical knowledge into a better patient management. The volume is addressed to clinicians, researchers, physiotherapists, and other healthcare professionals engaged in effective patient care and therapy.

Respiratory Care: Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology by Margaret V. Clark Respiratory Care Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology is a comprehensive, highly illustrated text with a strong emphasis on cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology, acid/base balance, and blood gas interpretation. This text will expertly guide you through cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology and serves as an ongoing reference throughout your schooling and health profession. With brand new content covering genetics, the inflammatory cycle, and pulmonary remodeling this text will provide you with the most current information on cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology.Respiratory Care Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology was written with the understanding to prepare you for successful completion of the National Board for Respiratory Care Examination Matrix. Using this text as your go to guide while studying will be a breeze with the online study aides and detailed illustrations.

Respiratory Care: Patient Assessment and Care Plan Development by David C. Shelledy; Jay I. Peters For all students and clinicians assessing or caring for patients with cardiopulmonary disorders, Respiratory Care: Patient Assessment and Care Plan Development is a must-have resource. As the most comprehensive reference available, it is a guide to the evaluation of the patient, and the development and implementation of an appropriate, evidence-based, respiratory care plan.Respiratory Care: Patient Assessment and Care Plan Development, Second Edition describes the purpose of patient assessment and then guides the reader through the process of reviewing existing data in the medical record, conducting the patient interview, performing the physical assessment, and finally evaluating the diagnostic studies needed and implementing a respiratory care plan.Bridging the gap between patient assessment and treatment, the text demonstrates how to apply assessment skills to the development and implementation of respiratory care plans. Integrated throughout each chapter are Clinical Focus Exercises, RC Insights!, and Key Points to help readers refine critical thinking and problem-solving skills as well as strongly grasp important concepts.

Respiratory Care Calculations Revised by David Chang Respiratory care equations are some of the most useful tools available to the practicing Respiratory Therapist and respiratory care students. Not only do the equations provide answers to clinical questions, they help practitioners learn variables in an equation and how those variables may be altered to achieve better clinical outcomes. Respiratory Care Calculations, Revised Fourth Edition prepares students to calculate those equations correctly, and then interpret that data in a meaningful way, resulting in patients benefiting from accurate answers and appropriate applications of data.With its comprehensive coverage of respiratory care calculations and extensive additional learning resources, readers will find Respiratory Care Calculations, Revised Fourth Edition useful in preparing for their clinical practice and credentialing examinations. Self-Assessment Questions are available in the NBRC format, and can be found at the end of each calculation to enhance and reinforce learning and retention. The book is extremely valuable to both students and seasoned practitioners in all patient care situations.

Respiratory Protection Against Hazardous Biological Agents by Katarzyna Majchrzycka; Małgorzata Okrasa; Justyna Szulc 'Protection against harmful bioaerosol is one of today's major concerns. This applies both to people inside and outside the work environment. In this book, renowned scientists provide up-to-date and authoritative reviews of the latest scientific research and practice that has contributed to our understanding of the harmfulness of the bioaerosol and protection against it. A detailed discussion of bioaerosol protection methods and equipment as well as presenting future trends in prognostic modelling are the undeniable value of this monograph. This comprehensive book is indispensable for anyone involved in occupational and environmental hygiene, biological hazard, recognition and control in occupational and public environments'. -- Bogumił Brycki, Adam Mickiewicz University The threats of biological airborne hazards are a global danger throughout the world today. Respiratory Protection Against Hazardous Biological Agents covers sources and practices of bioaerosol sampling, and discusses the prevention of these airborne hazards. The most common workplace hazard is poor air quality. The book provides the basic principles of a safe work environment in the conditions where workers might be exposed to harmful bioaerosols. It presents key characteristics of biological hazards and their effects on the human body. It examines microbial growth in filtering materials and provides the details of specific risks for users of respiratory protective devices. The book will present the reader a guide on how to measure the risk of exposure of biological agents and properly select respiratory protective devices. The book is ideal for the health and safety professionals and experts in the field of environmental health. FEATURES: Evaluates the risk of exposure to biological agents Describes the characteristics of biological factors and their effects on the human body Provides training on the importance of respiratory protective devices Examines microorganisms in the work environment Provides examples and case studies

Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS) by Davide Chiumello (Editor) This book covers all clinical aspects of acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), from definition to treatment, focusing on the more recent recommendations and evidence-based medicine. The  addressed topics are the various ventilation strategies, the impact of prone positioning, the use of partial and total extracorporeal support, the value of vasodilators, the weaning from mechanical ventilation, the pharmacological interventions, noninvasive ventilation, and the strategies using anti-inflammatory agents and stem cells. Furthermore, different related topics are also discussed, such as lung imaging, sedation, metabolic support, and hemodynamic instability. A concluding chapter specifically addresses ARDS in children. This up-to-date volume, written by  experts in the field, will be of value for all health care practitioners seeking state of the art on the management of patients with this complex syndrome.

Advances in Mechanical Ventilation, an Issue of Clinics in Chest Medicine by Neil R. MacIntyre This issue of Clinics in Chest Medicine focuses on Advances in Mechanical Ventilation. Articles include: Mechanical Ventilation Design Features; Assessing Respiratory System Mechanical Function; Ventilator Induced Lung Injury; Managing Acute Lung Injury; Patient-Ventilator Interactions; Extracorporeal Gas Exchange; Preventing Ventilator Associated Infections; Ventilator Discontinuation Process; Ventilator Management of the Non-injured Lung; Non-invasive Ventilation; and more!

Artificial Ventilation: a basic clinical guide by David J. Baker This book provides a basic clinical guide to the principles and practice of artificial ventilation, both manual and mechanical. It covers the development of artificial ventilation through the ages and the essential anatomy and physiology behind it. While there are many detailed texts available on mechanical ventilation, they are usually aimed at the hospital specialist and cover the many complex modes of ventilation used in the hospital setting.This book covers the basics of airway and ventilation management for  non-specialists working in pre-hospital and emergency medicine. It fulfils the need for a resource that explains simply and clearly basic respiratory physiology, the pathophysiology behind respiratory failure and the practical aspects of artificial ventilation. This book links the two areas of hospital and pre-hospital practice together to promote better understanding of artificial ventilation by medical, paramedical and nursing  personnel working in different fields of medicine.  

Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate: an evidence-based approach to newborn respiratory care by Jay P. Goldsmith; Edward Karotkin; Gautham Suresh; Martin Keszler Extensively updated and featuring a new editorial team, the 6th Edition of Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate, by Drs. Jay P. Goldsmith, Edward Karotkin, Gautham Suresh, and Martin Keszler, continues to be a must-have reference for the entire NICU. Still the only fully comprehensive guide in this fast-changing area, it provides expert guidance on contemporary management of neonatal respiratory diseases, with an emphasis on evidence-based pharmacologic and technologic advances to improve outcomes and quality of life in newborns. A new full-color design and chapter layout combine for quick and easy reference. Covers everything you need to know about respiratory management in neonates: general principles and concepts; assessment, diagnosis and monitoring methods; therapeutic respiratory interventions; adjunctive interventions; and special situations and outcomes. Covers basic concepts of pulmonary pathophysiology and gives practical guidance on providing neonatal respiratory support with a variety of techniques, so you can learn both basic and advanced methods in one volume. Offers more than 30 appendices that help you quickly find normal values, assessment charts, ICU flow charts, procedure steps and other useful, printable forms. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Reflects the rapid evolution of approaches to respiratory care, including the shift to non-invasive support, as well as changes in oxygenation targets, high-flow nasal therapy, volume ventilation, and sophisticated microprocessor-controlled ventilators. Completely new information on many previously covered topics, including ethical and legal issues related to neonatal mechanical ventilation. Features 11 entirely new chapters, including Radiography, Lung Ultrasound and Other Imaging Modalities; Non-invasive Monitoring of Gas Exchange; Airway Evaluation: Bronchoscopy, Laryngoscopy, Tracheal Aspirates; Special Ventilation Techniques; Cardiovascular Therapy and PPHN; and Quality Improvement in Respiratory Care . Includes new opening summaries that highlight key information in each chapter.

Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care by Robert M. Kacmarek; James K. Stoller; Al Heuer Designed for optimal student learning for over 40 years, Egan''s Fundamentals of Respiratory Care, 11th Edition provides you with the strong background you need to succeed in the field of respiratory care. Nicknamed "the Bible for respiratory care," it helps you gain a thorough understanding of the role of respiratory therapists, the scientific basis for treatment, and clinical applications. Comprehensive chapters correlate to the most up-to-date 2015 NBRC Detailed Content Outline for the TM-CE to successfully prepare you for clinical and credentialing exam success. Always in step with the ever-changing field of respiratory care, this easy-to-read new edition features five new chapters, as well as new information on online charting systems, patient databases, research databases, meaningful use, simulation, and an expanded discussion of the electronic medical record system. User-friendly full-color design calls attention to special features to enhance learning. Evolve learning resources include PowerPoint slides, Test Bank questions, an English-Spanish glossary, an image collection, a Body Spectrum Anatomy Coloring Book, and student lecture notes that enhance instructors'' teaching and students'' learning. Student Workbook reflects the text''s updated content and serves as a practical study guide offering numerous case studies, experiments, and hands-on activities. Therapist-Driven Protocols (TDPs) used by RTs in hospitals to assess a patient, initiate care, and evaluate outcomes, are incorporated throughout the text to develop your critical thinking skills and teach the value of following an established protocol. Expert authorship from the leading figures in respiratory care ensures that critical content is covered thoroughly and accurately. Excerpts of 40 published Clinical Practice Guidelines provide you with important information regarding patient care, indications/contraindications, hazards and complications, assessment of need, and assessment of outcome and monitoring. UNIQUE! Egan''s trusted reputation as the preeminent fundamental respiratory care textbook for more than 40 years maintains its student focus and comprehensive coverage while keeping in step with the profession. Updated content reflects changes in the industry to ensure it is both current and clinically accurate and prepares you for a career as a respiratory therapist in today''s health care environment. UNIQUE! Mini Clinis give you an opportunity to apply text content to actual patient care through short, critical-thinking case scenarios. Mini Clinis can also be used as a point of focus in class discussion to strengthen students'' critical thinking skills. UNIQUE! Rules of Thumb highlight rules, formulas, and key points that are important to clinical practice. Bulleted learning objectives aligned with summary checklists to highlight key content at the beginning and at the end of each chapter, paralleling the three areas tested on the 2015 NBRC Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination: recall, analysis, and application. NEW! Five all-new chapters bring you the most current information on the fundamentals of respiratory care research, flexible bronchoscopy, trauma, burns, near drowning, patient ventilator interaction, and extracorporeal life support (ECLS). NEW and EXPANDED! The latest information on online charting systems, patient databases, research databases, meaningful use, and simulation, plus an expanded discussion of the electronic medical record system, provides you with the knowledge needed for clinical and examination success. NEW! All chapters correlate to the most up-to-date 2015 NBRC Detailed Content Outline for the Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination (TM-CE) so you are prepared to excel on the NBRC credentialing examination. NEW! Easy-to-read, updated chapters with new data in respiratory care, a more fluid writing style, and an improved reading level help you better understand difficult concepts.