Delgado Community College Libraries: Open Educational Resources: Discovery and Implementation

OER Discovery and Search Tips

This video demonstrates how to search effectively for Open Educational Resources.

You can also use popular platforms such as Google, YouTube, and Flickr to find open resources.

Google: Use the Advanced Search under Usage Rights select to limit your results to resources which are Free to use, modify or share. More from Google on Usage Rights.

YouTube: After searching by keyword in YouTube, use the Filters feature to filter your results to those videos with a Creative Commons License. Looking for more videos? View the Images, Audio & Video tab!

Flickr: After searching by keyword in Flickr, use the Any License filter feature to filter your results to the appropriate usage license which best suits your usage of the work. Looking for more images? View the Images, Audio & Video tab!

Creative Commons Search: Please note that search.creativecommons.org is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations.

Source: Austin Community College District Library Services: Open Educational Resources

Resources for OER Implementation

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
Part of the global Open Education Consortium, CCCOER provides resources for implementing OER programs at technical and community colleges, including case studies, webinars, workshops, and community support for students and faculty using OER.
Five Steps to OER Adoption
BCcampus OpenEd Institutional Guide
From the site: "The B.C. Open Textbook Institutional Guide is a starting point to help your institution incorporate open textbooks and other OER into the classroom starting with an OER Policy Tool. This page also provides information, guides, videos, brochures, posters, PowerPoint slides, research, and an adoption tracking tool."
OER Toolkit for Faculty
OER Toolkit for Trades Instructors
BC Open Textbook Accessibility Toolkit
BC Open Textbook Adoption Guide
Adopting Open Educational Resources in the Classroom
From the site: "This course provides faculty with an introduction to the laws that influence the use, re-use, and distribution of content they may want to use in a course. Activities include finding openly licensed content for use in a class and publishing openly licensed works created by faculty. At the end of the course, students will have openly licensed content that will be ready for use in a course."
OER 101
From the site: "This class is a brief introduction to Open Education Resources (OER) for faculty. It is divided into five modules with five goals: understanding the purpose of OERs in higher education, understanding the advantages of OER in higher education, analyzing and evaluating OER material with the goal of synthesizing material into a class, synthesizing OER material into a class, and creating and hosting OER content."

Where to Find Open and Affordable Educational Resources

Affordable Learning LOUISiana OER Repository
The Affordable Learning LOUISiana OER repository is a digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create and collaborate with educators around the state and the world to improve curriculum.
LCTCS Courses on Canvas Commons
From Canvas Commons, search for LCTCS to find this collection of open courses and materials created by LCTCS faculty and staff. These courses can be loaded into a Canvas shell and tailored to fit the specific class.
EDS Faculty Portal
The EDS Faculty Portal provides a simple search interface for faculty to identify content the library can purchase that can be provided free-of-charge to students in place of costly textbooks.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and its publishing partners, including 2,400 books and 500 courses.
OER Commons
From a single point of access in OER Commons, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER.
OpenStax
OpenStax textbooks include instructor resources, including manuals, guides, and sample syllabi. Optional low-cost technology integrations, including Canvas integration, are available through the OpenStax Partners.
SkillsCommons
Provides job-driven, skills-centered workforce development courses and materials.
Open Textbook Library
A large collection of textbooks with published peer reviews by professors.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS)
A search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 71 different sources and contains 165,051 records.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 18 different sources of open educational materials.
Credo Reference
Available free-of-charge to Delgado faculty, staff, and students through the Delgado Libraries. Find books, Topic Pages (summaries of topics and pointers to more content on that topic) and the Mind Map (an interactive, visual tool for exploring related concepts).
BC Campus OpenEd
The British Columbia Open Textbook Project provides open textbooks for the forty highest-enrolled academic subject areas in the province, and textbooks for trades, technology, and skills training are in development.

Open Educational Resources: Discovery and Implementation

OER Discovery and Search Tips

Resources for OER Implementation

Where to Find Open and Affordable Educational Resources

Supplemental OER: Arts & Humanities

Supplemental OER: Math, Sciences, and Technology

Supplemental OER: Governmental Data and Publications