Below are a few titles in our collection. Continue your search in our online catalog or the EBSCOhost eBooks database. To learn about searching this database, check out this video.
The APRN and PA's Complete Guide to Prescribing Drug Therapy 2020 by
Includes more than 30 new diagnoses and eBook with digital updates as needed! Updated to deliver the most current standards, this is a unique prescribing reference for APRN students and advanced health care providers in all practice settings who need guidance on prescribing drugs for patients with acute, episodic, and chronic health problems. Concise, easy to read, and updated throughout, the resource delivers pharmacotherapy regimens for more than 600 diagnoses-including over 30 that are new. The print format includes an eBook with digital updates to assure immediate access to essential information. Listed alphabetically by diagnosis, pharmacotherapy regimens include, for each diagnosis, drug choices listed by generic name, FDA pregnancy category, generic/over-the-counter availability, adult/pediatric dosing regimens, brand names, forms of dosage, and additives. Clinically useful information such as laboratory values to be monitored, patient teaching points, and safety information is interspersed throughout each diagnosis. Additional quick-access features include information presented in convenient table format and an alphabetical cross-reference index of drugs by generic and brand name, with FDA pregnancy category and controlled drug schedule (I, II, III, IV, V). Key Features: Includes 31 new diagnoses totaling over 600 organized alphabetically Serves as a quick-access prescribing reference for APRN and PA students and health care providers in all primary care settings Presents drug information in condensed and summary form for ease of use Within each diagnosis, drug choices are listed alphabetically by generic /trade name, FDA pregnancy category, adult/pediatric dosing, dose forms, and additives Delivers guidance on lab values to be monitored, patient education points, and safety information Includes 30 Appendices with ready access to key drug classifications, FDA Pregnancy Categories, US Schedule of Controlled Substances, Immunization Schedules, Contraceptive Guidance, categories Anti-Infectives, and more! Offers brand/generic cross-reference
Comprehensive Neonatal Nursing Care by
Praise for the Fifth Edition: "This book provides a complete look at neonatal healthcare delivery... It] includes discussions of contemporary topics of interest, such as informatics, genetics, global health, and family-centered care, which are vital to providers caring for neonates today. The case studies and evidence-based practice dialogues provide great opportunities for further reflection. The book is useful to a wide audience in nursing, including undergraduate and graduate nursing students, practicing neonatal and pediatric nurses, and advanced practice nurses who care for neonates. Score: 92, 4 Stars--Doody's Medical Reviews The sixth edition of this acclaimed neonatal nursing text is completely updated to encompass the most current research findings and strategies for providing cost-effective and evidence-based care. It continues to address neonatal care from a physiologic and pathophysiologic perspective, with a major emphasis on nursing management at the bedside and advanced practice level. It examines each neonatal body system and describes evidence-based interventions that assist in understanding the 'why' behind various clinical presentations. Integrative management is threaded throughout the text along with extensive research findings to support practice strategies and rationales for sound clinical decision-making. Case studies, evidence-based practice boxes, QSEN competencies, and online resources help to amplify and reinforce content. New to the Sixth Edition: New technologies including neonatal health care simulationTrauma-Informed CareSubstantial revisions to the Neonatal Resuscitation ProgramUpdates in Continuous Quality ImprovementEmphasis on neuroprotective factorsEmerging global trendsGenomics and its relationship to precision health prevention of diseasesMaternal-Fetal UnitsNeonatal Abstinence Syndrome and maternal drug useLeadership and cost management of the NICUUpdates on neonatal care protocols and procedures, new treatments, and new trends in family-centered integrative developmental careNew palliative care protocolsVideo clips regarding parental caregivingParent perspectives on carePodcasts from experts in the fieldHighlighted callouts for Emergency Alert, Quality and Safety Issues, and Family Concerns Key Features: Complete physiologic and embryologic foundation of each neonatal body systemThe relevance of various diagnostic testsIntegrates quality and safety as per QSEN competenciesCase studies, evidence-based practice boxes, parent handouts, and online resourcesAuthored by internationally reputed "mother" of neonatal nursingParent Voices provide new perspective on neonatal care
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care: Working with Diverse and Vulnerable Populations by
Newly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice. As representatives of specific cultural, racial, ethnic, and sociopolitical groups, nurses bring their own values, beliefs, and attitudes to all interactions with patients and with one another. Whether or not nurses choose to make their attitudes explicit, these attitudes ultimately influence the quality of care they provide to patients. The content of this book is grounded in the Staircase Model, which builds upon the nurse's own self-assessment to identify personal limitations, find strategies to improve cultural competence, and progress to the next level. This text features case scenarios that apply the process of cultural competence to different healthcare situations. What's NewThree New ChaptersChapter 12: Caring for Patients Who Are Morbidly ObeseChapter 13: Caring for VeteransChapter 14: Caring for ChildrenExpanded content on caring for LGBTQIA communityPowerPoint slides provided for instructors Key FeaturesAddresses AACN competenciesProvides easy-to-follow self-assessment using the Staircase ModelLearning Objectives and Key Terms are identified in each chapterOverview of each chapter provides current information about trends in the United States on the topic under discussionProvides an excellent cultural competency preparation for student nurses in clinical situations as well as for practicing nurses at all levels and areas of nursingPresents content on immigration and transgender individuals
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. AJN Book of the Year 2016 First-Place Winner in Gerontological Nursing! "The evidence-based protocols are designed as a primary reference and are useful, substantive, and timely....The broader contributions of useful format and succinct review of the evidence make it likely that this text will continue to be the leading resource in nursing education and practice." --The Gerontologist "As a gerontological clinical educator/research nurse, I will often use this as a reference. The format and the content are good, and the explanations of how to best use the evidence simplify the process of sifting through mountains of information to figure the best practice." Score: 97, **** --Doody's The newest edition of this distinguished reference in geriatric nursing delivers updated guidelines, new illustrative case studies, and the latest evidence-based protocols developed by leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in each topic area. The sixth edition includes new approaches devoted to supporting LGBTQ+ elders, persons living with dementia and their families, and older adults living with HIV. New operational strategies provide guidance in using the electronic health record, implementing improved person-centered care approaches, and maintaining age-friendly atmospheres. Using evidence derived from all levels of care, this text offers developed guidelines for improving both quality and outcomes when caring for older adults in multiple disciplines, including interprofessional team members, long-term care and other staff educators, social workers, dietitians, and physicians. Chapters provide assessment and management principles, clinical interventions, specialty practice, and models of care. They consistently feature chapter objectives, annotated references, evidence ratings for each protocol, and resources for further investigation. Each protocol is embedded within the chapter content to provide context and detailed evidence. The protocols consistently include an overview, evidence-based assessment, intervention strategies, and a supporting case study with discussion. PowerPoint presentations and a test bank are available as instructor's resources.New Chapters: Informational Technology: Embedding CPGsOrganizational Approaches to Promote Person-Centered CareEnvironmental Approaches to Support Aging-Friendly CareHIV Prevention and Care for the Older AdultLGBTQ+ PerspectivesKey Features: Best practices for in-patient, in-home, and long-term care settingsCase studies with discussions in each chapter to illustrate application of clinical practice and related Nursing Standard of Practice ProtocolThe AGREE systematic method was used to evaluate each protocol and validate this book's contentInstructor's resources including PowerPoints and a Test BankPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices and computers
Nursing Care of Children and Young People with Long-Term Conditions by
The second edition of Nursing Care of Children and Young People with Long Term Conditions remains the only nursing-specific text on the care of paediatric patients with chronic illness. Written to meet the needs of nursing students and professionals alike, this comprehensive volume provides authoritative and up-to-date information on the context, theory, and practice of delivering holistic care to children and families in a range of health and social care settings. Contributions from a team of experienced academics, educators, and practitioners offer valuable insight into the impact of chronic illness on children and parents, the practical implications of meeting their physical, psychological, and social needs, empowering them to be 'experts' in their care, and many more vital aspects of long-term paediatric care. This edition features new and revised content reflecting contemporary guidelines and evidence-based practice, including updated clinical case studies and a new chapter examining the impact of having a sibling with a long-term condition. Emphasising a multi-disciplinary approach to managing chronic illness, this important resource: Provides numerous case studies and activities illustrating the application of theoretical principles and current evidence in nursing practice Investigates the genetic basis of chronic illness and the differing onsets of long-term conditions Discusses current political, economic, and social policies that are influencing healthcare for children and bringing challenges to managers and practitioners Examines both classic and contemporary theories of grief, loss, coping, and adaptation Explores ethical, legal, and professional aspects of nursing children and young people with chronic illness Addresses evolving nursing roles, the importance of acute emergency care, and the planning and delivery of effective transition from child to adult services Nursing Care of Children and Young People with Long Term Conditions is required reading for student and registered children's nurses, as well as for practitioners in related health and social care disciplines.
ECG Interpretation: an Incredibly Easy Pocket Guide by
New at ECG interpretation? No need to go it alone--keep the basic skills and concepts at your fingertips, with ECG Interpretation: An Incredibly Easy!® Pocket Guide . Use this enjoyable reference for at-a-glance reviews of how to use and monitor ECG equipment, obtain and interpret rhythm strips, and accurately spot and treat arrhythmias. Full of helpful charts, illustrations, and easy-to-relate-to definitions, this is the perfect on-the-spot guide for students, new nurses, and all those looking for expert guidance on the job. Increase on-the-job or classroom confidence with this must-have pocket guide, featuring: NEW and updated content in quick-read, bulleted format, with easy-to-remember guidance on topics including: o Identifying and interpreting atrial, junctional, ventricular, sinus node, and atrioventricular arrhythmias o ECG effects of electrolyte imbalances o ECG effects of antiarrhythmics o Basic and advanced electrocardiography, including equipment uses and components o Waveform types and components Dozens of photos, drawings, and diagrams clearly outline key concepts, including: 8-step method of ECG evaluation Identifying and monitoring disorders, rhythm disturbances, and electrolyte imbalances Placement of different types of leads Identifying and solving monitor problems Interventions - Administering nonpharmacologic and pharmacologic treatments for arrhythmias, including pacemakers, ICDs, and antiarrhythmics Special features: Memory jogger - Memory tricks that help you remember key concepts and treatments Through the ages - Identifies differences in ECG interpretation and pacemaker needs, according to the patient's age Help desk - Explanations of monitoring equipment components and functions What causes it - Causes of different disorders, imbalances, and arrhythmias What to look for - Tips on identifying and interpreting arrhythmia How it's treated - Steps to take for a variety of treatment "Nurse Joy" and "Nurse Jake" - Expert insights on ECG methods and problem-solving End-of-book guides and tests: The Test Zone - Practice Q&A Quick guide to arrhythmias ACLS algorithms: The Pulseless Arrest, Tachycardia, and Bradycardia Guide to antiarrhythmic drugs Guide to choosing monitoring leads About the Clinical Editor Jessica Shank Coviello, DNP, APM, ANP-BC, is Associate Professor and Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program at Yale Univers
Infusion Therapy Made Incredibly Easy by
Get a thorough grounding in delivering safe, effective infusion therapy with the friendly support and technical guidance of the newly updated Infusion Therapy Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 5th edition. This complete how-to on administering and monitoring different IV medications delivers clear direction on vital concepts, terms, and techniques--backed by numerous illustrations, confidence-building humor, and expert insights. Offering clear, concise direction for nursing students, this popular Incredibly Easy!® text is also the ideal refresher for nurses and all practitioners learning best practices for a range of infusion therapies. Get the skills and know-how needed to administer infusion therapy successfully... NEW and completely revised/updated content with the latest infusion therapy techniques Easy-to-read, easy-to-remember guidance for students and practitioners lacking IV experience Start-to-finish directions and concise explanations on areas such as: Preparation Access sites Equipment use and management IV starting techniques, including line insertion Handling complications Infusion therapy using peripheral veins Infusion therapy requiring central venous access Parenteral nutrition Antineoplastic, biologic, and chemotherapy Discontinuing an IV Managing hypothermia, hypernatremia, calcemia, and kalemia Special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, and home care patients Legal issues and professional standards Dozens of colorful diagrams, photos and illustrations explain skills and core concepts, including: Delivery methods Flow rates Infusion fluids and medications Monitoring and documentation Transfusion therapy Special features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of each chapter's content "Nurse Joy" and "Jake" - offer clear explanations, vital care reminders, and expert insight on interventions and problem-solving Quick quiz - multiple-choice questions after each chapter to help you retain knowledge That's a wrap! - summary of key information for quick chapter reviewBest practice - evidence-based standards for administering and monitoring infusion therapyWarning - possible risks or complications Running smoothly - pointers on keeping both patient and equipment problem-free Memory jogger - anecdotes and memory tricks to help you retain vital content Practice Makes Perfect - end-of-book NCLEX practice questions for solid exam preparation
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy by
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Nursing Care Planning Made Incredibly Easy by
Get clear on nursing care planning and map the way to positive outcomes--in the classroom and in clinical practice--with the thoroughly updated Nursing Care Planning Made Incredibly Easy!®, 3rd Edition. Learn step-by-step how to build a concept map, develop a nursing diagnosis, and choose realistic outcomes and individualized interventions. This nursing guide leads you expertly through the care plan process, backed by the Made Incredibly Easy series' trademark humor, plentiful illustrations, and down-to-earth explanations. Master the concepts and process of care planning ... NEW and updated guidance on following the evidence-based standards of North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA) diagnoses, and Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC), and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines NEW full-color design--dozens of illustrations and diagrams that outline the process of concept mapping, diagramming, and intervention planning NEW guidance on creating electronic plans--online access to 166 customizable care plans covering every nursing specialty, including new plans for gastric bypass, preterm labor, and cerebral palsy, plus examples of handwritten care plans NEW Nurse Joy and Jake offer practical advice throughout Breaks down the process of creating individualized care plans into easy-to-follow segments Guides nursing students and new nurses into the critical thinking and planning skills needed to choose appropriate, effective treatments and interventions Case study exercises and clinical tips to help you integrate care plan concepts and evidence-based standards with real-life situations Part I discusses NANDA-I, NOC, and NIC --covers assessment, nursing diagnosis, planning, implementation, evaluation, and integrating the concepts Part II integrates major nursing diagnoses with common medical diagnoses --addresses medical-surgical, maternal-neonatal, pediatric, and psychiatric diagnoses Chapter features include: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Under construction --sample concept maps and care plan components, with tips for creating individualized care plans On the case --visual, step-by-step instruction applied to real-life patient care scenarios Weighing the evidence --the latest evidence-based standards of care, demonstrated in sample care plans Teacher knowsbest --helpful tips and reminders to help you apply what you are learning Memory jogger --techniques for remembering vital content
Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy by
Time to master the complexities of respiratory care. The newly updated Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 3rd Edition , explains the essentials with humor, expert guidance, and numerous colorful images. Offering the essential terms, skills, and equipment how-to's you need to successfully treat the most common respiratory disorders, this down-to-earth guide helps you grasp respiratory physiology, pathophysiology, and pharmacology in clear and simple language. Prepare for success in the classroom and on the job, with this enjoyable guide to creating positive respiratory outcomes. Grasp the fundamental concepts, skills, and processes of respiratory care ... NEW content on the latest respiratory modalities and updated nursing guidelines Dozens of colorful charts, drawings, and diagrams that make complex respiratory care concepts clear and easy-to-remember Perfect for visual learners --visually demonstrates anatomy and physiology, the components of treatments and when and how to apply them, and the causes, symptoms, and treatment of obstructive, restrictive, vascular, and neoplastic lung disorders Ideal reference and review for nursing students, new nurses, and respiratory therapists, with clear, concise direction on areas such as: Respiratory assessment techniques Diagnostic procedures Airway maintenance Oxygen delivery Chest drainage Suctioning Ventilatory support Treating infection and inflammation Assessing and treating traumatic injuries and other respiratory emergencies Care of patients receiving extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) and end-tidal CO2 monitoring Recognizing an asthma attack Preoperative and postoperative care for patients having a thoracotomy or lung transplant Computed tomography (CT) and x-ray imaging Chapter features that provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Kids' korner --seasoned guidance on caring for pediatric patients Clinical pearls --clear-cut explanations of symptoms and disorders, backed by direction and advice on treatment Advice from the experts --expert input on respiratory care Home care --helpful guidance on teaching patient self-care Breath sounds -- online access to breath sounds Nurses Joy and Jake --Practical advice and experienced insights offered throughout Memory jogger --simple techniques for remembering vital information About the Clinical Editor Rose Knapp, DNP, RN, APN-BC, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner and Associate Graduate Faculty MSN Program Director and APN Program Coordinator at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey.
Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual by
Ready to learn health assessment skills? The fully updated Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition, shows you how--with humor, great visuals, and real-life scenarios. Hundreds of colorful drawings, diagrams, and photos support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on the many skills needed for physical exams and assessments of every body system, from head to toe. Fulfill the requirements of student nursing--and start your nursing practice with a high standard--with this top-level direction on performing solid, accurate health assessments!
Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Build a solid knowledge base in hemodynamic nursing skills, with the newly updated Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual!®, 4th Edition. Full of colorful images that illustrate monitoring concepts and processes, this concise, enjoyable guide sorts through the complexities of hemodynamics and clarifies them in easy-to-follow ways. Grasp the structures and functions of pulmonary and cardiac systems and the vital skills of hemodynamics, with this vital reference--a must-have for all nursing students, new nurses, and nurses returning to critical care.
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual by
Know the how and why of common conditions--and assess them accurately--with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition . Fully illustrated in the popular Made Incredibly Visual style, this essential guide offers easy-to-follow explanations for the causes and mechanisms of numerous common disorders, listing symptoms and indications for each. Use this as the perfect study guide for the NCLEX® or certification exam, to support class materials, and to absorb the pathophysiology principles every nurse needs to know.
Congenital Heart Disease by
This book provides the theoretical and practical basis of technical nursing in congenital heart disease; it is intended for nurses and nursing students, and for anyone involved in the treatment of these patients. The improvements in diagnosis and management of patients with congenital heart disease (CHD) are due to the recent advances in cardiac surgery and interventional cardiology and have meant that an increasing number of infants are reaching adolescence and adulthood. This manual is a practical and easy-to-use guide, which promotes effective cooperation between health professionals. Congenital heart disease is a disorder that is present at birth, and studies show that the incidence is around eight cases per thousand live births. The heart is formed during the first four - ten weeks of gestation, and alterations to this process can affect normal development, leading to heart defects. There are various types of heart defects: abnormalities that affect a single part of the heart (for example a valve) but also, highly complex abnormalities where there is severe damage to the cardiac architecture. The seriousness of the disease and the effects on child health vary: some forms have no real impact on child health and allow a normal life, while others are incompatible with life.
Core Curriculum for Ambulatory Care Nursing by
The potential impact of this Core Curriculum for Ambulatory Care Nursing (4th edition) is timely and far reaching. It serves as a foundation for ambulatory care practice, a current state overview, a resource for training and continuing education, a guide for nurse leaders, and a catalyst for future innovation and research. This edition of the Core Curriculum has been organized and expanded to address the educational needs of nurses either new to the specialty or those experienced, as well as to provide a review for those who seek specialty certification as an ambulatory care nurse. This Core Curriculum will influence and inspire your professional practice. If you are a current or future ambulatory care nurse, an ambulatory care nurse leader or emerging leader, or a nursing school faculty member looking to understand and navigate ambulatory care nursing, keep this Core Curriculum within your reach.
Disaster Nursing and Emergency Preparedness by
"What a wonderful resource "--Doody's Medical Reviews "The 4th Edition is unique in recognizing the rapid changes in both the causes of crises and the latest attempts to provide timely multidisciplinary approaches to the practice of this growing specialty...Evident throughout this edition is the call to identify crisis leadership among the increasingly talented base of nurses who have responsibility to move the profession to recognize and accept that they can be advocates for better planning, coordination, education and training." - Frederick M. Burkle, Jr., MD, MPH, DTM, PhD(Hon.), FAAP, FACEP Senior Fellow & Scientist, Harvard Humanitarian Initiative, Harvard University & T.C. Chan School of Public Health From the Foreword "This impressive edition builds upon the solid foundation of the first three award-winning editions with an expanded focus on climate change related disasters, globalization and its implications for emerging and re-emerging infectious diseases, the accommodation of high-risk, high-vulnerability populations, and the potential for disaster arising from a world witnessing increasing community violence and civil unrest." -Patricia M. Davidson, PhD, MED, RN, FAAN Professor & Dean, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing From the Foreword "The contributing authors read like a "Who's Who" of disaster leaders. They lend their special expertise and insights, which are supported and elucidated by cogent learning strategies in the use of case studies, student questions, and packed content in all areas of disaster participation, preparedness, policies, and research. For over 16 years this book] has been the hallmark text in its field and this edition proves to be the best ever." -Loretta C. Ford, RN, PNP, EdD Dean Emeritus, University of Rochester School of Nursing Founder of the National Nurse Practitioner Program Member, National Women's Hall of Fame Featuring the most current, valid, and reliable evidence-based content available, this three-time AJN winner once again presents an unparalleled resource for disaster and emergency preparedness. Disasters lay heavy burdens upon healthcare systems that stretch all levels of society. While natural and man-made disasters are not new, the global nature, rate, type, and totality of their impact has only increased. The fourth edition of this foundational text uniquely addresses the rapid changes in these crises and analyzes the latest attempts to provide timely, multidisciplinary healthcare. Nurses consistently comprise seventy or more percent of responders to local, national, regional, and global crises, and represent a potentially untapped resource to achieve surge capacity goals and optimize population health outcomes. Considering recent world events and increasing geopolitical tensions, Disaster Nursing and Emergency Preparedness, Fourth Edition now features expanded content on the ubiquitous threat of terrorism, potential detonation of thermonuclear weapons, emerging and reemerging infectious diseases, and increasing frequency and intensity of natural disasters from climate change. This text promotes competency-based expert nursing care during disasters and positive health outcomes for small and large populations consistent with the Federal Disaster Response Framework. Whenever possible, content is mapped to published core competencies for preparing health professions' students for response to terrorism, disaster events, and public health emergencies. The fourth edition retains the clearly organized format in each chapter that includes an overview, learning objectives, a summary, and case study with reflective questions. New to the Fourth Edition: Addresses the most recent landmark agreementsSendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduc
Quality of Life and Person-Centered Care for Older People by
This book explores the meaning of quality of life in care for older persons and introduces the reader to their main concerns when receiving care. Based on qualitative research, it pays particular attention to the needs and requirements of older people, considering their individual family situations, social circumstances, values and lifestyles. Person-centred care is a way of providing nursing care that puts older people and their families at the core of all decisions, seeing each person as an individual, and working together to develop appropriate solutions. Following an introduction to the concept of quality of life in old age, the book reviews essential findings from worldwide research into the experiences of older people with regard to nursing care and the impact of these experiences on their quality of life. It investigates health promotion, care provided in nursing homes and assisted living facilities, and palliative care. Each chapter includes a brief introduction to the respective field of nursing care and the problems it has to deal with, concluding with a discussion of their implications for nursing practice in the respective field of care. In closing, the evidence from qualitative research is discussed in relation to current gerontological theories.
Renal Nursing: Care and Management of People with Kidney Disease by
Now in its fifth edition, Renal Nursing continues to be the essential evidence-based guide to nephrology and kidney care for nurses and allied health care professionals. This comprehensive text examines the stages of chronic kidney disease, pre-dialysis care, acute kidney injury, renal replacement therapy, renal nutrition, renal care in children and young people and more. Offers thorough coverage of all major aspects of kidney care Includes updated content on current practice, changes in policies, care and management, with the latest research evidence and current NICE guidance on renal replacement therapy Has an innovative chapter on patient and public involvement in kidney care Renal Nursing is an indispensable resource for nurses working in nephrology, dialysis and transplantation, nurses in post-registration renal courses, student nurses in renal wards, specialist renal dietitians, pharmacists and other allied health professionals in related fields.
