This page includes examples of the types of government resources available in the Reference Collection. This collection is non-circulating and must remain in the Reference Room. Please continue your search in the online catalog.
Historical Dictionary of the U. S. Congress
by
Consisting of two houses-the Senate and the House of Representatives-and 535 members-100 Senators and 435 Representatives, the U.S. Congress forms the legislative branch of the United States Government. Primarily charged with composing the laws of the United States, the Congress also is responsible for creating all bills for revenue; laying and collecting taxes; borrowing money; printing money; regulating commerce; declaring war; administering postal services, military services, and lower courts; and promoting the progress of science and the arts through grants. The Historical Dictionary of the U.S. Congress is intended to provide greater civic understanding for young Americans and to provide a handy reference to more serious students of the legislative process in the United States. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes listing the dates Congress has been in session and all the people who have held leadership positions in Congress, a comprehensive bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on congressional leaders, elections, and legislative practices. This book is an excellent access point for high school students, college students, and anyone interested in a better understanding of the legislative process in the United States.
United States Government Manual
by
The United States Government Manual provides information about the missions, programs, and activities of Federal agencies, as well as listings of the leadership of each agency of the Obama administration, the Members of Congress, Justices of the Supreme Court, and other officials throughout the Federal Government.
United States Government Internet Directory 2011
by
Discover the depth of government information and services available online. The United States Government Internet Directory serves as a guide to the changing landscape of government information online. The Directory is an indispensable guidebook for anyone who is looking for official U.S. government resources on the Web. The U.S. government's online information is massive and can be difficult to locate. Many government sites are part of the "Deep Web" with content that does not surface or surface easily with even the most popular search engines. It is more important than ever to have a source that serves as an authoritative guide to the federal Web. The United States Government Internet Directory navigates the maze of data and locate the materials that you seek. The subject-based approach of this book allows you to browse for relevant sites in your field of interest rather than sift through hundreds of search results or try to guess which federal agency to consult. Researchers, business people, teachers, students, and citizens in the United States and around the world can navigate the labyrinthine federal Web with The United States Government Internet Directory. The Directory: .contains more than 2,000 Web site records, organized into 20 subject themed chapters .includes topics on a wide-range of subjects including employment, energy, defense and intelligence, culture and recreation, and much more .provides descriptions and URLs for each site .describes sites to help you choose the proper resource .notes the useful or unique aspects of the site .lists some of the major government publications hosted on the site .contains useful, up-to-date organizational charts for the major federal government agencies .provides a roster of congressional members with member's Web sites .lists House and Senate Committees with committee URLs .includes a one-page Quick Guide to the major federal agencies and the leading online library, data source, and finding aid sites .identifies the major government Web sites related to the global recession and new government economic recovery programs .contains multiple indexes in the back of the book to help the user locate Web sites by agency, site name, subject, and government publication title"
Public papers of the Presidents of the United States
by
Each volume of the Public Papers of the Presidents contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events.
The Delgado Community College libraries shelve books by the Dewey Decimal system. Most of the books relating to government are located within the 320-350s call number range. Below are selected places to browse for books on governmental issues..
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
