Below are a few titles housed within our collection... please continue your search in our online catalog
Gorbach's 5-Minute Infectious Diseases Consult by
Using the two-page, templated organization of the 5-Minute Consult series, Gorbach's 5-Minute Infectious Diseases Consult, Second Edition provides comprehensive coverage for clinicians dealing with infectious diseases. The two major sections of the book cover chief complaints and individual diseases and disorders. Additional materials include summary information about individual microorganisms as well as numerous elements related to drugs for infectious disorders. A team of international authorities provides actionable information, supported by current reearch and practice guidelines. Features Include: Comprehensive coverage of infectious diseases, important symptoms, microorganisms, and anti-infective drugs Coverage of emerging infectious diseases such as H1N1 flu Increased coverage of tropical diseases Two-page, tightly written chapters Updated information about management of HIV/AIDS
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide 2012 by
Jones & Bartlett Learning is the Official Print and Mobile Provider of the Johns Hopkins POC-IT Center ABX Guide.Thoroughly revised and updated for 2012, the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide, Third Edition continues to provide current, authoritative and comprehensive information on anti-microbial agents, infectious disease and commonly encountered pathogens, in one portable volume.Written by experts at the world-renowned Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, this must-have resource features expert recommendations, clinical and diagnostic decision-making tools, and drug-to-drug interactions. Concise, thorough, and current, The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide, Second Edition is designed for quick reference and comprehension. Information is featured in an easy-to-access format that facilitates rapid application of knowledge at the point of care.
Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant by
Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant, written and edited by Drs. Remington, Klein, Wilson, Nizet, and Maldonado, remains the definitive source of information in this field. The 7th edition of this authoritative reference provides the most up-to-date and complete guidance on infections found in utero, during delivery, and in the neonatal period in both premature and term infants. Special attention is given to the prevention and treatment of these diseases found in developing countries as well as the latest findings about new antimicrobial agents, gram-negative infections and their management, and recommendations for immunization of the fetus/mother. Nationally and internationally recognized in immunology and infectious diseases, new associate editors Nizet and Maldonado bring new insight and fresh perspective to the book. Easy access to the complete contents and illustrations can be found online at expertconsult.com. Get the latest information on maternal infections when they are pertinent to the infant or developing fetus, including disease transmission through breastfeeding Diagnose, prevent, and treat neonatal infectious diseases with expert guidance from the world's leading authorities and evidence-based recommendations. Incorporate the latest findings about infections found in utero, during delivery, and in the neonatal period. Find the critical answers you need quickly and easily thanks to a consistent, highly user-friendly format Get fresh perspectives from two new associate editors-Drs. Yvonne Maldonado, head of the Pediatric Infectious Disease program at Stanford, and Victor Nizet, Professor of Pediatrics & Pharmacy at University of California, San Diego and UCSD School of Medicine. Keep up with the most relevant topics in fetal/neonatal infectious disease including new antimicrobial agents, gram- negative infections and their management, and recommendations for immunization of the fetus/mother. Overcome the clinical challenges in developing countries where access to proper medical care is limited. Apply the latest recommendations for H1N1 virus and vaccines. Search the full text online including references linked to pub med abstracts. Identify and treat infections with the latest evidence-based information on fighting life-threatening diseases in the fetus and newborn infants.
The Patient as Victim and Vector Ethics and Infectious Disease by 
Emerging Protozoan Pathogens by
Fast advances have been made in the field of protozoology, specifically around the area of emerging protozoan pathogens. This timely volume provides the reader with a current understanding of factors such as the biology, genomics, epidemiology, pathogenesis and treatments of this important group of pathogens. In order to provide a more useful reference for less experienced readers, there are also sections on general properties of protozoa and the human immune response, to aid further understanding of the specialist topics on the emerging pathogens. Emerging Protozoan Pathogens is intended to be used by microbiologists and molecular and cell biologists at advanced undergraduate and graduate levels, as well as health professionals and researchers who are interested in these pathogens. The material covered in the book makes an ideal platform on which to base further research projects.
Inflammation Life Style and Chronic Diseases by
Oxidative stress and inflammation are among the most important factors of disease. Chronic infections, obesity, alcohol and tobacco usage, radiation, environmental pollutants, and high-calorie diets have been recognized as major risk factors for a variety of chronic diseases from cancer to metabolic diseases. All these risk factors are linked to chronic diseases through inflammation. While short-term, acute inflammation generated by the immune system serves a therapeutic role, chronic low-level inflammation that may persist "silently" for decades is responsible for chronic diseases. Inflammation, Lifestyle, and Chronic Diseases: The Silent Link describes the role of dysregulated inflammation in persistent and recurring diseases. It investigates links to lifestyle and presents research on how the suppression of proinflammatory pathways may provide opportunities for both prevention and treatment of chronic diseases. The book covers neurodegenerative diseases, pulmonary diseases, asthma, rheumatic and arthritic diseases, skin disease, heart disease, chronic wounds, infectious disease, neuropsychiatric disorders such as depression, gastrointestinal diseases, insulin resistance, and cancer, many of which are also diseases of old age. For each chronic disease, contributors review the clinical and scientific literature and examine current and potential therapies, including conventional pharmacotherapies as well as natural products. Noting that the long-term use of steroids and nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) can cause adverse side effects, many of the chapters address the role of dietary agents such as fruits, vegetables, legumes, pulses, nuts, and spices as ideal anti-inflammatory agents that can be consumed regularly. The book also suggests directions for further research. Clinical and science researchers, students, and health professionals interested in the link between inflammation, lifestyle, and chronic diseases will find this an informative resource.
Understanding Viruses by
The ideal text for undergraduate students majoring in biology, microbiology, medical technology, or pre-med, the Second Edition of Understanding Viruses provides a balanced approach to this fascinating discipline, combining the molecular, clinical, and historical aspects of virology. Updated throughout to keep pace with this fast-paced field, the text provides a strong, comprehensive introduction to human viral diseases. New material on molecular virology as well as new virus families presented coupled with chapters on viral diseases of animals; the history of clinical trials, gene therapy, and xenotranplantation; prions and viroids; plant viruses; and bacteriophages add to the scope of the text. Chapters discussing specific viral diseases weave in an epidemiological and global perspective and include treatment and prevention information. Contemporary case studies, Refresher Boxes, and Virus Files engage students in the learning process. With a wealth of student and instructor support tools, Understanding Viruses is an accessible, exciting, and engaging text for your virology course.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases by These call numbers should help you browse the shelves.
362 Social welfare problems & services
570 Life sciences
574 Biology
575 Evolution & genetics
576 Microbiology
579 Collection and preservation
610 Medicine and health
611 Human anatomy, cytology, histology
614 Incidence & prevention of disease
616 Diseases
