The reference collection includes a variety of books and databases that provide access to information on all topics, usually concise overviews.
In the library, try browsing the library shelves with some of the call numbers that are listed below, or by searching in the library catalog or databases with the search tips provided on the Books and Databases tabs.
From off-campus, enter your LOLA # (i.e. L00123456), you must use the letter (B, L, N, or H) at the beginning of your LOLA # and your PIN is your birthdate (i.e. mmddyy or ddmmyy).
Please look through Delgado's online catalog for more reference sources.
Human Diseases and Conditions by
Presents articles dealing with all kinds of diseases and disorders, from acne and brain tumor to tobacco-related diseases and yellow fever. This three-volume reference covers 249 diseases and conditions in a style accessible to young adult readers. Each entry includes a definition of the disease or condition, an explanation of how it works in the body, information on causes, symptoms and diagnoses, treatment or cure and how it works, and a discussion of what it is like to live with the disease or condition. The articles are arranged alphabetically and include sidebars about literature, famous people or other cultural stories related to the topic; definitions and pronunciations of medical terms; cross-references and lists of related keywords; case studies; boxes describing how important cures were discovered; "years ago" boxes providing historical perspective; and telephone numbers and Web addresses of organizations such as the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Asthma Information Center. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Created by a team of doctors and health education experts based at the du Pont Hospital for Children, this reference work presents information available on 280 diseases and conditions. In addition to photographs, special features include definitions with pronunciations, fact boxes, historical/literary sidebars and process diagrams, as well as an introduction on how the human body works. Created by a team of doctors and health education experts based at the du Pont Hospital for Children, this reference work presents the most accurate and up-to-date information available on 280 diseases and conditions. Ranging from a half-page for minor topics to seven pages for major topics, the clearly designed sections include prevention and lifestyle guidance where appropriate. In addition to photographs, special features include definitions with pronunciations, fact boxes, historical/li
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
So much more than just a dictionary... the completely revised, bestselling, trusted Mosby''s Dictionary is the all-in-one reference you need to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features superior-quality definitions plus 2,400 full-color illustrations -- nearly three times more than any other dictionary available! But that''s only the beginning. Mosby''s Dictionary also includes encyclopedic entries to explain more difficult concepts in depth, 12 appendixes with practical quick-reference information, plus the Mosby''s Medical Spellchecker CD. It''s the ONE reference you''ll turn to from beginning to end! Over 51,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions -- including definitions for major diseases, disorders, drugs, and procedures -- offer the most accurate, complete information available in all areas of nursing, medicine, and health-related professions. Approximately 2,400 color photographs and line drawings -- nearly three times more than any other health care dictionary -- illustrate all subject areas to help you understand concepts. The practical, straightforward alphabetical organization with no subentries and easy-to-use features such as thumb tabs, entry words in color, and large, easy-to-read print make it easy to find and understand information. Expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures, offer detailed information in one spot to help you understand more difficult concepts. Hundreds of lab test and surgical procedure definitions explain the purpose, procedures, patient care, and expected outcomes. Comprehensive definitions for drugs -- with over 200 new to this edition -- include indications, contraindications, and adverse effects for safe medication practice. Definitions for more than 50 complementary and alternative medical therapies and over 100 herbs familiarize you with options today''s patients may choose. Pronunciations and word roots for key entries help you use terminology correctly in everyday practice. Includes British spellings for selected entries to help you recognize alternate spellings. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. 12 appendixes offer useful information you''ll turn to again and again -- with a quick-reference list of all appendixes in the front of the book. A companion EVOLVE website deepens understanding with: Over 35,000 audio pronunciations A printable version of the Color Atlas of Human Anatomy 11 pages discussing complementary and alternative medicine A printable English-Spanish phrase book 12 pages of herb-drug interactions 400 interactive medical terminology review exercises An extensive directory of health care organizations and resources And much more! Approximately 5,000 new definitions, with special emphasis on definitions related to new drugs, anatomy and physiology, surgical procedures, lab tests, and new technological developments, keep you up to date on the latest developments in health care. Over 30,000 completely revised definitions and 800 updated illustrations ensure you have the most current information in all areas of nursing, medicine, and the health-related professions. UNIQUE! Mosby''s Medical Spellchecker CD -- included with each copy of Mosby''s Dictionary -- contains over 450,000 medical terms you can use with your word processing software to save time and ensure accuracy. A completely revised section on nursing diagnoses with entries for all NANDA-approved nursing diagnoses, Nursing Interventions Classifications, and Nursing Outcomes Classifications helps prepare you for real-world practice.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
Occupying an important niche between basic health resources for consumers, and technical professional materials, this five-volume reference is appropriate for high-school level students and general readers. Previous editions are cited in Public Library Catalog, 12th ed., Walford, 8th edition, and Senior High School Library Catalog, 16th ed.. Approx
UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and DisordersThese call numbers should help you browse the shelves.
362 Social welfare problems & services
570 Life sciences
574 Biology
575 Evolution & genetics
576 Microbiology
579 Collection and preservation
610 Medicine and health
611 Human anatomy, cytology, histology
614 Incidence & prevention of disease
616 Diseases
