Delgado Community College Libraries: Political Science: Reference Materials

Non-Circulating Books in Print

These are some examples of books we have in our Reference Collection. For more titles, please continue your search in the online catalog.

The Oxford Handbook of Political Science by Robert E. Goodin (Editor)
Call Number: 320 O98

ISBN: 9780199562954

Publication Date: 2009-09-28
A History of the U. S. Political System: ideas, interests, and institutions by Richard A. Harris (Editor); Daniel J. Tichenor (Editor) This reference resource combines unique historical analysis, scholarly essays, and primary source documents to explore the evolution of ideas and institutions that have shaped American government and Americans' political behavior. * Over 50 contributors, including a mix of distinguished and cutting-edge political scientists and historians * Nearly 200 primary sources, including Federalist and Anti-Federalist writings, presidential speeches, and landmark Supreme Court cases * Classic engravings and political cartoons aligned with key periods in American political development * Tables of presidents and congressional leadership and maps showing electoral votes over time * Name and subject indexes for each volume
Call Number: 320.973 H67

ISBN: 9781851097135

Publication Date: 2008-09-01
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions by Kermit Hall (Editor); James W. Ely (Editor)
Call Number: 342.730026 O98(2)

ISBN: 9780195379396

Publication Date: 2009-03-11
The Judicial Branch of Federal Government by Charles L. Zelden (Editor) This volume in ABC-CLIO's About Federal Government set looks at the history and daily operations of the federal judiciary, from district courts, to courts of appeal, to the Supreme Court. * Provides a detailed timeline of the legislative history of the federal courts, from the Supreme Court to the district courts by state * Primary sources include Article III of the U.S. Constitution, the Judiciary Acts of 1789 and 1801, the Evarts Act of 1891 (creation of Circuit Courts of Appeals), the Judiciary Act of 1911 (disbanding the old Circuit Courts), landmark cases such as Marbury v. Madison (judicial review) and a complete listing of all who served as federal judges by name and by the court they served in
Call Number: 347.73 J92

ISBN: 9781851097029

Publication Date: 2007-07-12
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
Call Number: 973.03 P95 V.1 & 2

ISBN: 9780691129716

Publication Date: 2009-11-29
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by Bonnie S. Fisher; Steven P. Lab (Editor)
Call Number: 362.88 E56

ISBN: 9781412960472

Publication Date: 2010-02-02

Browse the Shelves

These call numbers should help you browse the shelves.

320 Political science
321 Systems of governments & states
322 Relation of state to organized groups
323 Civil & political rights
324 The political process
325 International migration & colonization
326 Slavery & emancipation
327 International relations
328 The legislative process
340 Law
345 Criminal law
347 Civil procedure & courts
348 Law (Statutes), regulations, cases
360 Social problems & services; associations
363 Other social problems & services
364 Criminology
365 Penal & related institutions

Try the Reference Databases

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics, 3rd ed. Written by a leading team of political scientists, it embraces the whole multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, and concepts, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics.
Dictionary of the Social Sciences Oxford's unprecedented Dictionary of the Social Sciences is designed to break down the barriers between social science disciplines, as well as to make social scientific language comprehensible to general readers. Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms.
The Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics Comparative Politics, the discipline devoted to the politics of other countries or peoples, has steadily gained prominence, allowing politics to be viewed from a wider foundation than a concentration on domestic affairs alone would permit. The Companion focuses on the major theories, concepts, and conclusions that define the field, analyzing the similarities and differences between political units.
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World, 2nd ed. This major new edition of The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World reflects the changing world with a reassessment of many of the core themes of the previous edition, and new articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History Provides comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States, covering for the first time in one reference work the key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases, and larger political and legal trends throughout American history.

The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science A clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science for students and general readers. The book comprises rigorous definitions and explanations of key terms, including short biographies of the most eminent writers in the discipline.
Dictionary of American Government and Politics This Dictionary offers a fresh, up-to-date look at US government and politics, explaining and where necessary demystifying the key terms used in discussion of the political system. Major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system are included with the aim of allowing readers to develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of the area.
The Essentials of Global Politics This work provides an overview of the most important contemporary events and themes of global politics--including globalisation, the ever-present threat of war, and conflict and terrorism. With the aid of maps, lists, key facts and summary information, it offers a discussion of the effects that globalisation has had on global affairs.
Political Glossaries: A Glossary of US Politics and Government This Glossary explains the key concepts, institutions, personalities and events most commonly referred to in the teaching of US politics and government. The emphasis is on accessibility in order to provide students with a ready source of knowledge which can supplement core reading. The book will help students to address any gaps they may have in their understanding of US politics which, in turn, will make studying this fascinating subject all the more rewarding and enjoyable.

Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States Focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide.

Political Science: Reference Materials

Reference Overview

Non-Circulating Books in Print

Browse the Shelves

Try the Reference Databases