Delgado Community College Libraries: Accelerated Career Education (ACE): Technical Trades Core Cluster

About the Technical Trades Core Cluster

The Technical Trades Core Cluster is for you if you are interested in careers in the technical fields such as Welding, HVAC, and Electrical. You will study the information needed to enter and safely work in technical trades, specifically work-site safety, power tool use, rigging, and blueprint reading. These topics are all covered in TECH 101, the introductory course that maps to the NCCER Core certification.

You will also learn valuable study and career skills that will help you navigate the college experience and take advantage of the many resources available to you on campus.

Academic Programs

The Technical Trades Core Cluster is designed to prepare you to build your skills for a career or pursue additional education in the pathways of welding, HVAC, and electrical work. This cluster sets you on the path toward concentrations in Welding CTS, HVAC/R CTS, or Electrician CTS.

Jobs

Example occupations include:

Research Database Search
How to complete a reference search using our research databases.
How to Search for Books
This page demonstrates how to search for books in the Library's catalog, including key word formulation, phrase searching, truncation, substitution, Boolean, nesting, and expanded searches.
Borrow From Other Libraries
How to submit your interlibrary loan requests online and track the status of your requests at any time, day or night. Users are also be able to receive and download electronic copies of articles that are sent electronically from our lenders.

Electrician's Guide to the Building Regulations by Institution of Engineering and Technology ( IET ) Staff
Call Number: 621.31924 E38(4)
ISBN: 9781849195560
Publication Date: 2014-03-14
Materials and Processes in Manufacturing by J. T. Black; E. Paul DeGarmo; Ronald A. Kohser
Call Number: 670.427 M42(9)
ISBN: 0471033065
Publication Date: 2002-12-19
Welding Fundamentals by William A. Bowditch; Kevin E. Bowditch; Mark A. Bowditch
Call Number: 671.52 B78w5
ISBN: 1631263285
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Air Conditioning by David V. Chadderton
Call Number: 697.93 C43a3
ISBN: 9780415703383
Publication Date: 2014-05-15

Finding and Downloading eBooks
The eBooks from EBSCOhost and Springer Link can be downloaded and viewed on computers and a variety of eReaders including tablets, Kindles, Nooks, and many more devices.

Innovative Technologies for Joining Advanced Materials VIII by Alin Constantin Murariu (Editor)
Call Number: 600
ISBN: 9783035702590
Publication Date: 2016-07-27
Manufacturing Engineering Handbook Second edition. by Hwaiyu Geng
Call Number: 658.5
ISBN: 9781785397301
Publication Date: 2016
Combined Heat and Power Design Guide by Ashrae (Contribution by)
Call Number: 697
ISBN: 9781936504879
Publication Date: 2015-05-26
Testing and Balancing HVAC Air and Water Systems by Samuel C. Sugarman
Call Number: 697
ISBN: 0881737291
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Advanced Technology for Smart Buildings by Jim Sinopoli
Call Number: 720.4
ISBN: 9781630813727
Publication Date: 2016

Accessing Databases from Off-Campus
You can access our resources from anywhere with an internet connection, using your LOLA ID and PIN/six-digit date of birth.

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This database is updated daily and features searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. Providing searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals, is another added benefit.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
Science & Technology Collection
The Science & Technology Collection contains over 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.
Shock & Vibration Digest
Shock & Vibration Digest provides wide-ranging content, including full-text records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration. Topics include noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, engineering, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of shock and vibration.

Print Journals

Online Journals

Electrical Contractors, Plumbing Contractors, and Heating and Air Conditioning (HVAC) Contractors
Electrical Engineering
Features original articles drawn from the entire range of electrical and electronic engineering, including related fields in mathematics and physics.
Engineered Systems
Provides information to assist people who specify, install, buy, and maintain commercial, industrial, and institutional hvac/r systems. Contains feature article, issues and events, and literature and product profiles.
HVAC (Cooling, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning) and Refrigeration Equipment Manufacturing
Journal of Electrical Systems
Publishes original papers of permanent reference value in all fields of electrical systems.
Welding and Cutting
Covers welding, cutting and soldering technology and related fields.
Welding Design & Fabrication
Information on new developments in design manufacturing, welded metal products, manufacturing techniques and equipment. New materials joining, forming, cutting processes inspection, testing, and quality control.
Welding International
Welding Journal

Films on Demand logo

Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Click on these links below to see examples of other technical trades films.

HVAC: Films for the Humanities and Sciences
HVAC is a fifteen-minute video which is part of the series, Vo/Tech: Ins and Outs. This fast-paced, entertaining, and intriguing series introduces several occupations in the vast career pathway of vocational and technical trades.
Welding Safety
This video covers the most important safety rules and protective equipment to use when performing MIG, TIG, arc, and gas welding. Welding helmets and their lens ratings, leather aprons and gloves, welding gas respirators, heat shields, and fire extinguishers are discussed, and various types of welders, including plasma cutters, are illustrated.
Tools of the Trade: Inside the Electrician's Toolbox
After a general introduction of electricity—electrons, current, kilowatts, and the journey of electrical power from utility company to home—this program examines the work materials and tools commonly used by an electrician. Wires, cables, conduits, boxes, receptacles, and switches are illustrated, and the tools required to cut and run cable or conduit, detect and test voltage, and wire or connect fixtures are shown in action.

Air Conditioner Contractors of America (ACCA)
ACCA is a non-profit association whose membership includes more than 60,000 professionals and 4,000 businesses in the indoor environment and energy services community.
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
The Institute oversees the creation, promulgation and use of thousands of norms and guidelines that directly impact businesses in nearly every sector: from acoustical devices to construction equipment, from dairy and livestock production to energy distribution, and many more. ANSI is also actively engaged in accreditation - assessing the competence of organizations determining conformance to standards.
American Welding Society
The American Welding Society (AWS) was founded in 1919, as a nonprofit organization with a global mission to advance the science, technology and application of welding and allied joining and cutting processes, including brazing, soldering and thermal spraying.
ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers)
ASHRAE's mission is to advance the arts and sciences of heating, ventilating, air conditioning and refrigerating to serve humanity and promote a sustainable world.
The Fabricators & Manufacturers Association, International (FMA)
Founded in 1970, FMA brings metal fabricators and equipment manufacturers together through technology councils, educational programs, networking events, and FABTECH®, the industry’s leading trade show. The official publications of FMA include – The FABRICATOR®, The Tube & Pipe Journal®, STAMPING Journal®, The WELDER, The Fabricator® en Espanol, Canadian Metalworking, and Canadian Fabricating & Welding.
National Center for Construction Education & Research (NCCER)
NCCER develops standardized construction and maintenance curriculum and assessments with portable credentials. These credentials are tracked through NCCER’s Registry System that allows organizations and companies to track the qualifications of their craft professionals and/or check the qualifications of possible new hires. NCCER's Registry System also assists craft professionals by maintaining their records in a secure database.
National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA)
NECA represents electrical contractors from firms of all sizes performing a range of services. While most NECA contractors qualify as small businesses, many large, multinational companies are also members of the association.
The Welding Institute
The Welding Institute is the leading professional engineering institution for the registration of people involved with welding and joining all over the world.