The reference collection includes a variety of books and databases that provide access to information on all topics, usually concise overviews.
In the library, try browsing the library shelves with some of the call numbers that are listed below, or by searching in the library catalog or databases with the search tips provided on the Books and Databases tabs.
From off-campus, enter your LOLA # (i.e. L00123456), you must use the letter (B, L, N, or H) at the beginning of your LOLA # and your PIN is your birthdate (i.e. mmddyy or ddmmyy).
SPECIFIC TITLES OF INTEREST:
American Civil War: Gale Library of Daily Life
American Civil War Reference Library (see v.4)
American Decades Primary Sources
American Revolution Reference Library (see v.4)
American Social Reform Movements Reference Library (see v.4)
Colonial America Reference Library (see v.5)
Crime and punishment: essential primary sources
Development of the Industrial U.S. Reference Library (see v.3)
Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library (see v.3)
Elizabethan World Reference Library (see v.3)
Environmental issues: essential primary sources
Family in society: essential primary sources
Gender issues and sexuality: essential primary sources
Gilded Age and Progressive Era Reference Library (see v.3)
Government, politics, and protest: essential primary sources
Great Depression and the New Deal Reference Library (see v.3)
Human and civil rights: essential primary sources
Immigration and multiculturalism: essential primary sources
Medicine, health, and bioethics: essential primary sources
Middle Ages Reference Library (see v.4)
Reconstruction Era Reference Library (see v.3)
Renaissance and Reformation Reference Library (see v.5)
Social policy: essential primary sources
Terrorism: essential primary sources
Westward Expansion Reference Library (se v.3)
Call numbers should help you browse the shelves.
300 Social sciences, sociology & anthropology
790 Recreational & performing arts
800 Literature, rhetoric & criticism
930 History of ancient world to ca. 499
940 History of Europe
950 History of Asia; Far East
960 History of Africa
970 History of North America
973 United States
980 History of South America
990 History of other areas
999 Extraterrestrial worlds
To access these books, please visit the Library's Reference Room: Building 10 of the City Park campus, Room 132/133. These books cannot be checked out, but you can read them on-site, or make copies from them.
Early Innings: A Documentary History of Baseball by 
The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature by 
The Harlem Renaissance by 
The Harlem Renaissance by 
Encyclopedia of American Indian History by 
The American Republic: Primary Sources by 
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America by 
Voices of the U. S. Latino Experience by 
Voices of the African American Experience by 
U. S. Presidents and Foreign Policy by 
Jamestown Colony by 
Women in the American Civil War by 
American Decades Primary Sources by 
Encyclopedia of American History by 
