Here are examples of some of the books available in our collection. Please continue your search in the online catalog. To learn more about searching the catalog, watch this video.
Contemporary Women's Health
by
"Contemporary Women's Health provides a balanced, comprehensive understanding of the health issues affecting women. Health information is presented within the context of the social and political forces affecting women of all ages, races, and ethnicities. Prevention, health promotion, and becoming a wise healthcare consumer are emphasized throughout the text, while the impact of lifestyle issues and relationships throughout the lifespan on women's health are also explored."--BOOK JACKET.
Health First!: the black woman's wellness guide
by
The story of Black women in America is one of triumph and grace, even with odds stacked high against them.Health First! The Black Woman's Wellness Guide provides you with a comprehensive guide to your #1 resource: yourself. Today, as Black women face an unprecedented health crisis, denial and self-neglect are no longer viable options. This groundbreaking volume is rooted in the pioneering work of the Black Women's Health Imperative, the nation's only nonprofit organization devoted to advancing the health and wellness of Black women and girls. It offers a core health philosophy--too long denied Black women--based on putting your health first. Health First! explores Black women's most critical health challenges, connecting the dots through honest discussions with experts and the uncensored stories of real women--from adolescence through elderhood. The focus is on prevention and awareness, across generations and circumstances--from candid conversations about reproductive health and HIV/AIDS to frank explorations of Black women's Top 10 Health Risks, including cancer, obesity, and violence. No matter what your age or health status, this unprecedented health reference will become a trusted ally as you seek accessible and relevant information to help you navigate your most pressing health needs. In an age of uncertainty, it's time to take control and truly discover the vitality, power, and joy that can be yours when you learn how to put your health first.
Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span
by
Up to date and easy to read, this textbook provides comprehensive coverage of all major concepts of health promotion and disease prevention. It highlights growth and development throughout the life span, emphasizing normal development as well as the specific problems and health promotion issues common to each stage. All population groups are addressed with separate chapters for individuals, families, and communities. UNIQUE! The assessment framework for this textbook is based on Gordon's Functional Health Patterns and offers a consistent presentation of content and a health promotion approach. Extensive coverage of growth and development throughout the life span emphasizes the unique problems and health promotion needs of each stage of development. UNIQUE! Think About It boxes present a realistic clinical scenario and critical thinking questions. UNIQUE! Multicultural Awareness boxes present cultural perspectives important to care planning. Research Highlights boxes discuss current research efforts and research opportunities in health promotion. UNIQUE! Hot Topics boxes explore significant issues, trends, and controversies in health promotion to spark critical discussion and debate. UNIQUE! Innovative Practice boxes offer examples of unique and creative health promotion programs and projects. Updated nutrition coverage includes MyPyramid from the FDA, as well as the latest information on food safety and fad diets. Expanded health policy coverage focuses on global health, historical perspectives, financing healthcare, concierge medical practices, and the hospitalist movement. Health Promotion for the Twenty-First Century explores current and future health promotion challenges and research initiatives. Updated Healthy People 2010 data includes midcourse review objectives and an introduction to Healthy People 2020. Case Studies and Care Plans summarize key concepts and show how they apply to real-life practice.
Integrative Women's Health
by
As the largest group of healthcare consumers, women demand a broader, more integrative approach to their care, and this title meets that demand. While other books aimed at general audiences are commonplace, this is the first in-depth, wide-reaching reference on integrative women's health, written for both health-care professionals and general audiences. Not only does this title help providers address women's reproductive health, but it also explores conditions that manifest themselves differently in women than in men, such as, cardiovascular disease, arthritis, HIV, depression, and cancer. The book presents the best evidence - in a clinically relevant manner - for the safe and effective use of herbs, vitamins, diet, and mind-body strategies not usually taught in mainstream medicine, as well as conventional medical treatments. Dr. Maizes is Executive Director of Andrew Weil's program and Dr. Low Dog is Director of Education and an internationally recognized authority of women's health and herbal medicine. The book offers a critical appraisal of integrative approaches in women's health, including candid discussions of what is known versus not known, and it provides insight on how to advise patients with controversial issues such as sexual disfunction and loss of libido. In managing the patient, alternative therapies are never seen as substitutes for mainstream medical care but always 'integrated' into the overall regimen. Drs. Maizes and Low Dog present the information in an easy-to-read, two-color format featuring clinical pearls and key points.
The New Health Care System: Everything You Need to Know
by
Now that "Obamacare" (as the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act is popularly known) has become the law of the land, millions of Americans will need help figuring out exactly how the new system will work and how it might affect their lives.
This guide will teach people how the new health care exchanges are supposed to work. In an easy, conversational manner, David Nather makes a complicated system easier to understand by answering all your questions. Such as:
*How to apply for help in paying for insurance?
*Will your healthcare change if you work for a big company or a small company?
*How will the legislation affect you if you receive individual insurance, if you're uninsured, or if you are
on Medicare?
*What new protections are you supposed to get from the worst health insurance practices?
*Why did Congress decided everyone should be required to get health insurance?
For people who aren't lawyers or policy wonks, but simply want to make sense of what to expect in their own lives,The New Health Care System: Everything You Need to Know will be a must-read.
Call numbers should help you browse the shelves.
