Delgado Community College Libraries: English as a Second Language: Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This database is updated daily and features searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. Providing searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals, is another added benefit.
Arts and Sciences Collection I-XV ( JSTOR ) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For example:

• Arts & Sciences I-XV
• Business IV
• Hebrew Journals
• Ireland
• Life Sciences
• Public Health Journals
• Lives of Literature
• Security Studies
• Sustainability
• 19th Century British Pamphlets
• World Heritage Sites: Africa
• Struggles for Freedom: South Africa
• Global Plants

We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Learn how Mango Languages' language-learning resources help patrons, students, employees, and individuals learn 60+ languages online and on-the-go.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist who provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date, in-depth factual information on a broad range of current issues and controversies. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced coverage of current and historical events.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) provides a portal to relevant, credible information carefully hand-selected by our SIRS editorial staff. When students use SIRS SKS, they receive best-of content designed to support student research, study, and homework in key curricula subjects.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Book Collection: Nonfiction This link opens in a new window
Book Collection: Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference™ Center Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center Plus contains everything in Literary Reference Plus the following: over 1,200 additional full-text literary reference books/works, over 200 additional full-text literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with its most extensive curated compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Only this collection brings together 10 of the most acclaimed literary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Plus, it matches the familiar look and feel of the print originals.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center is the world's most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database. Uniquely relevant to today's curriculum, the resource's rich critical, biographical and contextual materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers will find the information they need on authors and their works, from all time periods and from around the world.
Scribner's Writer's Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Scribner Writers Series is designed to work the way people conduct literary research — going directly to an author name, combining search criteria or exploring thematic or chronological topics to make connections among writers. More than 2,000 original, scholar-signed biocritical entries average 15-20 pages each. They include a concise overview, hyperlinks for cross-referencing and information that places the author's work in personal or historical context.
Twayne Authors Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
The acclaimed Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and the development of literary genres.

English as a Second Language: Databases

Accessing Databases