Delgado Community College Libraries: American Sign Language: Reference Materials

Non-Circulating Books in Print

Here are examples of some of the types of sources availabe in the Reference Collection. Please continue your search in the online catalog.

Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education by Marc Marschark (Editor); Patricia Elizabeth Spencer (Editor)
ISBN: 0195149971
Publication Date: 2003-03-27
The Canadian Dictionary of ASL by Kathy Dolby (Editor); Charmaine LeTourneau; Carole Sue Bailey (Editor)
ISBN: 0888643004
Publication Date: 2002-06-27
Random House Webster's American Sign Language Dictionary by Elaine Costello
Call Number: REF 419.7 C84r
ISBN: 9780375426162
Publication Date: 2008-06-10
Signing Everyday Phrases by Mickey Flodin
Call Number: 419 F62si
ISBN: 9780399533099
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language by Peggy Swartzel Lott (Illustrator); Daniel Renner (Illustrator); Rob Hills (Illustrator); Clayton Valli (Editor)
Call Number: REF 419.03 G16
ISBN: 1563682826
Publication Date: 2006-04-17
City Park Library
Talking with Your Hands, Listening with Your Eyes by Gabriel Grayson
Call Number: REF 419 G78t
ISBN: 075700007X
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Comprehensive Reference Manual for Signers and Interpreters by Cheryl Hoffman
Call Number: 419 H69c5
ISBN: 039807447X
Publication Date: 2003-07-28

Try the Reference Databases

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences The volume is aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics This work provides uniquely comprehensive and authoritative information on all aspects of sociolinguistics.
Easy Way Series: E-Z American Sign Language This heavily illustrated, self-teaching guide to ASL-American Sign Language-is useful both for the deaf and for those men and women who teach or work among deaf people.
Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults The highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions Features authoritative definitions, appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and illustrations - making it an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.
A Dictionary of Psychology This authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology The entries in this encyclopedia explore the changing character of science, medicine, and technology in the United States; the key individuals, institutions, and organizations responsible for major developments; and the concepts, practices, and processes underlying these changes.

Child Development Covers human development from conception through adolescence, summarizing the latest research on physical, cognitive, social and emotional development and behavior, including areas of law, medicine, psychiatry, and demography among others.
Dictionary of American History This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.

Browse the Shelves

These call numbers should help you browse the shelves.

305 Social groups
360 Social problems & services; associations
362 Social welfare problems & services
370 Education
371 Schools & their activities; special education
400 Language
419 Sign languages
890 Literatures of other languages

American Sign Language: Reference Materials

Reference Overview

Non-Circulating Books in Print

Try the Reference Databases

Browse the Shelves

Reference Database Search Overview