The reference collection includes a variety of books and databases that provide access to information on all topics, usually concise overviews.
In the library, try browsing the library shelves with some of the call numbers that are listed below, or by searching in the library catalog or databases with the search tips provided on the Books and Databases tabs.
From off-campus, enter your LOLA # (i.e. L00123456), you must use the letter (B, L, N, or H) at the beginning of your LOLA # and your PIN is your birthdate (i.e. mmddyy or ddmmyy).
Here are examples of some of the types of sources availabe in the Reference Collection. Please continue your search in the online catalog.
Companion Encyclopedia of Geography by
Takes the theme of place as the unifying principle for an account of the discipline at the beginning of the twenty-first century. This work comprises 64 essays addressing human and physical geography, and exploring their inter-relations. The encyclopedia deals with the enormous growth of social and cultural geography in contemporary years.
Geography by
Each chapter has been thoroughly revised to reflect the changing cultural, political, and physical landscape of our world. Increased coverage of environmental change and the risks that the planet faces with 6.2 billion people. This new eleventh edition places more emphasis on critical thinking, human geography and environmental issues.
Geography Dictionary by
A practical reference of the major terms used in geography. The field of geography covers all aspects of physical, environmental, and human geography. The Firefly Geography Dictionary is an up-to-date A-Z reference with 1,500 concise definitions of geographical terms. The geographical themes covered include atmosphere, weather and climate, coastal formation, geomorphology, settlement and economic development. The terminology defined is as diverse as: Acid rain Chinook Hybridization Incised meander Nucleated settlement Radiocarbon dating Urban decay Extensive cross-referencing links words highlighted within definitions to further definitions so that complex and linked concepts are fully explained. Over 200 illustrations help visualize concepts, such as age-sex pyramid, drainage patterns and green-house effect. The Firefly Geography Dictionary is a convenient quick reference suitable for home or library.
Geography Basics by
Geography Basics covers the most fundamental concepts of both physical and social geography. In order to further the geographic literacy of contemporary students, the articles in Geography Basics take an integrated approach to the field, emphasizing inter
Placenames of the World by
A placename is often much more than just a label. A name may bespeak the history of a nation, the culture of a people, or the hopes of an individual. Such connections are revealed in this extensive alphabetical reference to placenames of the world, which offers an in-depth look at the origins of each. First published in 1997, the work in this new edition contains over 7,000 entries, including 1,000 new placenames from previously under-represented areas such as China and Japan. Entries cover natural features such as mountains, rivers and lakes as well as manmade entities such as cities and countries. Each entry includes the name of the feature; a brief description and its geographical location; and the origin of the name with relevant historical, biographical and topographical details. Appendices give the meanings of common elements of non-English placenames (e.g., Abu, as in Abu Dhabi, means father of); major placenames in European languages (e.g., Pays-Bas and Paesi Bassi are the French and Italian names, respectively, for what English speakers call the Netherlands); and transcribed Chinese-language equivalents for the names of the world's countries and capitals.
America Discovered by
Map researcher Derek Hayes applies his signature approach to a collection of maps that trace the discovery, exploration, and settlement of North America from 1000 A.D. to the present. Rich narratives make over 300 beautiful maps come alive, with North America's coasts, waterways, prairies, and peaks freshly described by explorers such as Columbus, Coronado, and Lewis and Clark as they encounter these territories for the first time. A final spread discusses modern scientific exploration and includes a detailed catalog and index of the maps.
These call numbers should help you browse the shelves.
900 History & geography
901 Philosophy & theory
902 Miscellany
903 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
904 Collected accounts of events
905 Serial publications
906 Organizations & management
907 Education, research & related topics
908 Kinds of persons treatment
909 World history
910 Geography & travel
911 Historical geography
912 Atlases, maps, charts & plans
913 Geography of & travel in ancient world
914 Geography of & travel in Europe
915 Geography of & travel in Asia
916 Geography of & travel in Africa
917 Geography of & travel in North America
918 Geography of & travel in South America
919 Geography of & travel in other areas
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
