Established in January 1999 in New York, e-flux is an international network which reaches more than 50,000 visual art professionals on a daily basis through its website, e-mail list and special projects. Its news digest – e-flux announcements – distributes information on some of the world's most important contemporary art exhibitions, publications and symposia.
Listen to these latest arts-related radio broadcasts.
Cross Collection Discovery provides a way to search across Yale’s collections of art, natural history, books, and maps, as well as photos, audio, and video documenting people, places, and events that form part of Yale’s institutional identity and contribution to scholarship. Not all content available through Discover Yale Digital Content is unrestricted. Please refer to the rights information in the record for each item.
Over 82,000 images from the collections of the de Young Museum and the Legion of Honor are accessible through the Museum’s ImageBase feature. Images are searchable through a general search engine, and the ImageBase includes a detail feature allowing users to zoom in on any image. The site also provides a “My Gallery” feature through which registered users can build an unlimited number of online galleries that can be publicly shared or kept private.
The Granger Collection, brings together the people, places, things, and events of the past 25,000 years in every form of graphic expression (save film footage) and has grown to more than six million black-and-white prints, photographs, and color transparencies.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Collection database offers over 130,000 images from the Museum’s permanent collection, categorized according their department within the Museum. The “My Met Gallery” feature allows registered users to create their own personal online galleries of images. The Museum also makes available a number of high-resolution digital images to the scholarly community for specific educational uses, which are distributed through the Images for Academic Publishing service of ARTstor.org.
MFA Images has historical portraits, examples of different art movements, images of objects from numerous cultures, and illustrations that span the Museum’s collection. Images can be used for personal enjoyment or licensed for reproduction.
The Image Library contains pictures from the: National Museum of Scotland; National Museum of Rural Life Scotland; National War Museum Scotland; National Museum of Flight Scotland; and the National Museum of Costume Scotland.
The Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 685,000 images digitized from The New York Public Library’s collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, and photographs. Images can be browsed by subject matter and the gallery also provides advanced search features.
The Peabody Essex Museum uses a platform called ARTscape to give users access to digitized iterations of the museum’s objects. Included are photos and descriptions of each object, definitions, book excerpts, quotations, and video and audio clips.
Using a similar interface as The Metropolitan Museum of art and the Peabody Essex Museum, The Walters allows users to download high quality digital images of exhibitons, along with conservation and exhibtion histories.
New Orleans Public Library prepared a nice list of local and national arts resources, including New Orleans-area museums and galleries.
Check out Art.sy
An amazing collection of the world's art to browse and search online.
