Below are a few titles in our collection. Continue your search in our online catalog or the EBSCOhost eBooks database. To learn about searching this database, check out this video.
Career Development Across the Lifespan by
This second edition of Career Counseling Across the Lifespan: Community, School, Higher Education, and Beyond is the latest volume in the Issues in Career Development Series, edited by Drs. Grafton Eliason, Mark Lepore, Jeff Samide, and John Patrick, from California University of Pennsylvania and Clarion University of Pennsylvania. The purpose of Career Development Across the Lifespan is to provide a broad and in-depth look at the field of career development as it applies to individuals involved in all areas of community counseling, school counseling, and higher education. The book will examine some of the field's major theories, themes, approaches, and newest models incorporating chapters from national and international career counseling experts. Specific emphasis is spent examining issues reflective of today's challenges in developing and maintaining a workforce that is diverse, flexible, and efficient. Readers will be provided with an action-based framework built on the best available research. This text book is truly the culmination of a decade's work, compiling comprehensive studies from four previous volumes and updating key concepts in career counseling with the most contemporary theories and innovations. We examine three primary domains of career counseling throughout all of the developmental stages of the lifespan: community, schools K-12, and higher education. We include a specific focus on career history and theories, to prepare students for both the counseling environment and for national exams leading to certification and licensure, such as the (NCE) National Counseling Exam. We also include cutting edge research on contemporary topics, including such areas as: military careers, life after the military, individuals with disabilities or special needs, career counseling in our current socio-economic environment, and current technologies such as virtual counseling. In addition, we have added case studies and key terms as study guides at the end of each chapter. We are fortunate to include many recognized experts in the field of career counseling. Career Counseling Across the Lifespan: Community, School, Higher Education, and Beyond is a comprehensive text, written to address the broad needs of career counselors, educators, and students today.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by
Provides detailed facts and current statistics for over 750 occupations in more than 90 key career fields. Contains more than 500 photographs.
The HR Career Guide: Great Answers to Tough Career Questions by
Featuring scores of proven career strategies and tactics from SHRM's popular Q&A columnist and New York Times bestselling author Martin Yate, The HR Career Guide is packed with practical, honest, real-world guidance for successfully navigating the challenges commonly faced throughout the complete career cycle, including: Starting Your HR Career, Resumes, Interviews, Networking, Job Searches, Job Stability, Leadership, Promotions & Transfers, Job Change, and Career Change.
The Introvert's Complete Career Guide: From Landing a Job, to Surviving, Thriving, and Moving On Up by
"Ready to change your life? Jane nails it in this informative and resource-rich book that guides introverts on a clear journey to an empowered career. If a tendency toward introversion makes you feel stuck, this book offers the keys to freedom!" --Dawn Graham, PhD, LP, Career Director at The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania What do Elon Musk, Warren Buffet, Marissa Mayer, and Bill Gates all have in common outside of being wildly successful? They are all introverts. In today's fast-paced, unstable workplace achieving success requires speaking up, promoting oneself and one's ideas, and taking initiative. Extroverts, fearless in tooting their own horns, naturally thrive in this environment, but introverts often stumble. If you question your ability to perform and succeed in this extroverted work culture, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide is custom fit for you. In this supportive, all-inclusive handbook, Jane Finkle demonstrates how to use your introverted qualities to their best advantage, then add a sprinkling of extroverted skills to round out a forceful combination for ultimate career success. Finkle shares the keys to navigating each stage of professional development--from self-assessment and job searching, to survival in a new position and career advancement. In The Introvert's Complete Career Guide you will learn to: Build confidence by evaluating your values, personality style, interests, and achievements Write the story of your career in resume and LinkedIn formats Use social media at your own comfort level to promote your career and expand your network Express yourself clearly and confidently in network meetings, interviews, and workplace situations Build strong professional relationships with colleagues and senior leaders Overcome fears that prevent you from embracing new challenges Equally applicable to the real or virtual workplace, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide provides strategies, tools, and success stories that win you the professional respect and recognition you deserve.
Unusual Jobs by
Themes: Work, Excitement, Extreme Environments, Nonfiction, Teen, Young Adult, Chapter Book, Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo Books, Hi-Lo Solutions, High-Low Books, Hi-Low Books, ELL, EL, ESL, Struggling Learner, Struggling Reader, Special Education, SPED, Newcomers, Reading, Learning, Education, Educational, Educational Books. For many, a job is just a way to make money. However, some people have unusual careers that provide unique opportunities for excitement and fulfillment. From jumping out of planes to working with animals to saving people in combat, there are many work environments that are outside the norm. What unusual job could you see yourself doing? Space 8, a Hi-Lo nonfiction series for young adults, reads like an infinity of facts. This series is full of high-interest topics that grab readers from the first page. Each book features stories about fascinating people and places and engages readers with compelling information; full-color photographs and illustrations; and detailed graphic elements including charts, tables, and infographics. Readers will find these books both captivating and inspiring.
The Wide World of Coding: The People and Careers Behind the Programs by
The best part about coding is that anyone with a computer can learn how to do it. From education to healthcare to entertainment, software touches almost every aspect of twenty-first century life. Take a high-level perspective on the types of people who create that software--including many jobs that do not involve writing code at all. Learn about the software development cycle and the huge variety of skills developers draw on, including psychology, mathematics, and art, to create amazing apps and programs. Explore why diversity is needed to prevent bias in design. Learn about the different coding languages and what they are used for, how developers choose a language, and tools that simplify coding. Jennifer Connor-Smith breaks down stereotypes about coding as a career that is open only to technology-obsessed gamers, revealing ways people use software to improve medical care, nurture dementia patients, promote social justice, and more. Hands-on activities show you how easy it is to learn to think like a coder. The next generation of coders will require diverse teams, creativity, and ethical codes of conduct to create the best and most successful software. Will you be one of them?
The Wonderful World of Work: A Workbook for Asperteens by
This hands-on workbook demystifies the world of work in order to help teenagers with Asperger syndrome (Autism Spectrum Disorder) feel confident in their ability to be successful at their studies and get a job. Each chapter talks the teen through a different element of employment, including the benefits of having a job, why education is important, how to write a resume and succeed at job interviews, and the advantages and disadvantages of autism in the workplace. A variety of different industries and jobs are explored to encourage teens to begin to think about careers that might appeal to them and suit their skills and interests. Full of practical information, engaging activities, funny illustrations and inspiring personal stories, this book gives Asperteens a positive image of what people on the autism spectrum can achieve and is an essential career guidance aid for parents and teachers working with young adults.
CVs, Resumes, Cover Letters and Linkedin: A Guide to Professional English by
Are you a graduate, postgraduate or PhD student? Are you simply looking for a new job in the private or public sector, in research or industry? If your aim is to produce a professional CV or resume, then this book is for you. Based on interviews with recruiters and HR managers, and an analysis of hundreds of CVs from around 40 different countries, the book is structured as a series of FAQs. Topics covered include: how recruiters and HR people analyse a CV whether using a template is a good idea the difference between a CV and a resume how to present your personal details and whether to include a photo how to write an Executive Summary what to write in each section (Education, Work Experience, Skills, Personal Interests) how to write dates how to highlight your language, communication and team skills how to get and write references You will also learn some hints and strategies for writing a: cover letter LinkedIn profile reference letter bio The last chapter of the book contains a simple template to help you get the job of your dreams!
The Elements of Resume Style: Essential Rules for Writing Resumes and Cover Letters That Work by
Building your résumé should be one of the easier parts to the whole job-interview process. But instead it's becoming increasingly stressful as well! What kind of résumé will spark the employer's interest Which kind most often get passed over How far back are we supposed to go How can we best explain those time gaps in between jobs Are the rules different for online résumés There are so many vital questions when it comes to building a résumé today, but only one way to be assured you're getting the right answers--by asking a hiring expert.Scott Bennett has hired hundreds of people in a variety of industries, and he knows firsthand the insights that will catch an employer's eye, as well as what dangers to avoid if you want to survive the first cut. In The Elements of Résumé Style, Bennett shows readers how to craft clear, compelling, targeted résumés and cover letters that actually work. In this new edition that includes social media and online-application tips, readers will be provided:* More than 1,400 action words, statements, and position descriptions that help sell your skills and experience* Hundreds of words, phrases, and vague claims to avoid* Advice for handling employment gaps, job-hopping, and requests for salary history and requirements* Sample résumés, response letter, inquiry letter, informational interview request letter, references, and more* Surprising tips for acing the interviewIn today's ultra-competitive environment, competition is intense no matter the field or position. And the often-overlooked first hurtle to jump over is no doubt the résumé. This candid book's time-tested tools will make sure yours stands out--helping to get you the job you deserve!
Gallery of Best Cover Letters: A Collection of Quality Cover Letters by Professional Resume Writers by
Gallery of Best Cover Letters is packed with expert tips for writing and designing cover letters, plus a diverse collection of more than 300 sample cover letters written by professional resume writers. It also includes more than 20 corresponding resumes. These examples span numerous fields, from healthcare and education to law enforcement and sales. A helpful index of sample letters and resumes sorted by occupation will help readers quickly find examples that speak directly to their career aspirations. In addition to these samples, the book provides expert advice for writing strategies tailored to readers' specific career interests. It also debunks common cover letter myths that may have been keeping readers from achieving success in the past. The book includes instructive comments for each cover letter that pinpoint the elements that make it striking and unique. Additional examples showcase electronic cover letters, letters to recruiters, thank-you notes, and letters that address relocation issues.
How to Organize My Job Search ? : A Step-by-step Guide for Job Seekers and Those Who Support Them by
This guide aims to give young people all the keys to build effective strategies for their job searches and successfully find jobs. The guide focuses on optimal use of digital tools (websites, applications, social networks) as well as howto successfully integrate into the new place of work.
Preparing a Resume/ Not Her Job (Job Skills) by
Themes: Life Skills, Preparing a Resume, Job Skills, Independent Living, Flip Book, Fiction, Nonfiction, Teen, Young Adult, Emergent Reader, Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo Books, Hi-Lo Solutions, High-Low Books, Hi-Low Books, ELL, EL, ESL, Struggling Learner, Struggling Reader, Special Education, SPED, Newcomers, Reading, Learning, Education, Educational, Educational Books. Each 5-book set in the series covers a key aspect of independent living, such as managing money, finding and keeping a job, or completing common household tasks. Developed for students reading at the most basic level, the books range in readability from 1.0-1.9 and have Lexile scores of HL130L to HL230L. Each book is actually two books in one, with a nonfiction side and a fiction side. The nonfiction side teaches students about an important life skills topic, and the fiction side helps them generalize the skills as they read about teens in real-world situations. JOB SKILLS: Build students job skills with this five-book set. Important aspects of jobs and managing basic skills on your own are explored in these nonfiction/fiction flip books. Topics include: preparing a resume, finding a job, job interview basics, how to act on the job, and employee rights.
Same-Day Resume: Write an Effective Resume in an Hour by
This book offers a quick, easy way to put together an effective resume in a hurry. While other huge tomes bog down the busy job seeker with too much information, this compact guide gives the reader the essential tools to apply for jobs on the fly. Same-Day Resume includes advice on cover letters, thank-you notes, online resumes, and job search strategies. This edition adds updated coverage of formatting a resume for the Internet and using social media to find job opportunities.
Workplace Readiness by
Theme: Hi-Lo, life skills, career, achieve independence, skills, job success, job skills. There's more to finding a job than simply applying. First, figure out what you'd like to do for a living. Think ahead and set career goals. Understand what training and education you'll need to reach your dream. Then begin your job search, looking for work that aligns with your goals. Grab potential employers' interest with a polished cover letter and resume, then impress them further in an interview. You'll be ready for the workplace in no time. Combining practical content with visual appeal, the Life Skills Handbooks read more like magazines than books. These 120-page handbooks are designed to teach life skills to today's teens in an approachable and non-threatening way. Realistic scenarios help teens grasp the relevance of the information in these books, and tables, graphs, and charts add to students' understanding. Essential vocabulary is featured to help students build real-world literacy.
Debunking the Myth of Job Fit in Higher Education and Student Affairs by
Co-published with This groundbreaking book examines a concept that has gone unexamined for too long: The concept of "job fit" in the student affairs profession. Fit is a term used by nearly everyone in student affairs throughout the hiring process, from search committees and hiring managers to supervisors and HR professionals. This book opens a conversation about the use of "job fit" as a tool for exclusion that needs to be critically investigated from multiple standpoints.This edited collection brings together a number of voices to look at the issues involved through various lenses to explore the ways policies, procedures, environments, and cultural norms provide inequitable job search experiences for individuals from various marginalized groups. These include looking at the legal aspects, employer definitions, communication barriers, as well as scholarly personal narratives looking at the concept from the perspective of class, race, gender and sexual orientation.Emerging from the Commission for Social Justice of ACPA, the personal narratives and critical explorations in this book are an attempt to provide graduate students and professionals with a resource that is relevant to the job search in an increasingly competitive job market, while taking into account the complex realities of their identities. The normative assumptions of "fit" are analyzed by the authors to make visible the barriers those assumptions create for those with non-dominant identities.The student affairs profession strives for inclusion and acceptance as a core value, and an essential competency. The profession has made progress in the way it serves students, but there is a disconnect between the conversation about students and the way those same values play out in the treatment of practitioners and scholars in the field. This book aims to help job seekers looking to evaluate fit in their current and possible future positions, as well as hiring managers who face challenges in creating equitable hiring processes.Challenging the norms and rhetoric about job fit in student affairs means that scholars and practitioners alike must be able to incorporate this topic explicitly into various aspects of the profession.
