Delgado Community College Libraries: Government Information: Databases

Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist who provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Issues (Gale In Context) spans continents and cultures to bring essential, balanced information to researchers across many academic disciplines. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more in a single search. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies (Gale In
Context) is a new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. Environmental Studies (Gale In
Context) is interactive and current, allowing users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. It's a one-stop site dedicated to studying sustainability and the environment.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date, in-depth factual information on a broad range of current issues and controversies. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced coverage of current and historical events.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) provides a portal to relevant, credible information carefully hand-selected by our SIRS editorial staff. When students use SIRS SKS, they receive best-of content designed to support student research, study, and homework in key curricula subjects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This database is updated daily and features searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. Providing searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals, is another added benefit.
Arts and Sciences Collection I-XV ( JSTOR ) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. For example:

• Arts & Sciences I-XV
• Business IV
• Hebrew Journals
• Ireland
• Life Sciences
• Public Health Journals
• Lives of Literature
• Security Studies
• Sustainability
• 19th Century British Pamphlets
• World Heritage Sites: Africa
• Struggles for Freedom: South Africa
• Global Plants

We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers for every discipline and a unique research experience with.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context. There are millions of entries, including thousands of images and audio pronunciation files.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

CGP: Catalog of Government Publications

Welcome to the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)! The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has a particular publication. It can also provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information. Click on the title of interest from your search results list, and then click on the Locate in a Library link within the displayed record.

General Databases

DISCOVERY SEARCH

Ebsco Discovery Service - searches the library catalog and databases at once

ARTICLES

Academic Search Complete - journal, magazine, newspaper articles (popular & scholarly)

Arts & Sciences Collection (JSTOR) - journal articles (scholarly)

LexisNexis Academic - newspaper articles and other news sources

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Gale Virtual Reference Library - dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more

Literati (Credo Reference) - dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more

Oxford English Dictionary - shows the history of a word's use

Oxford Reference Online - dictionaries, encyclopedia, and more

PRO/CON ARTICLES, REPORTS, & MORE

CQ Researcher - reports on current issues with lots of sources listed

GREENR - articles and background information on environmental issues

Issues & Controversies - reports on current issues with lots of sources listed; various graphs & other statistics located within articles

Opposing Viewpoints - various media on current issues, including articles & maps

SIRS Knowledge Source - various media on current issues, including articles

OTHERS

A-Z Maps Online - 4,000+ maps covering a varity of topics

African American Studies Center - gives detailed information on historical events

Global Issues in Context - present a rich analysis of issues & headlines

History Study Center - a vast collection of digitised primary and secondary sources

World News Digest - brings together & enhances nearly seven decades of news