The reference collection includes a variety of books and databases that provide access to information on all topics, usually concise overviews.
In the library, try browsing the library shelves with some of the call numbers that are listed below, or by searching in the library catalog or databases with the search tips provided on the Books and Databases tabs.
From off-campus, enter your LOLA # (i.e. L00123456), you must use the letter (B, L, N, or H) at the beginning of your LOLA # and your PIN is your birthdate (i.e. mmddyy or ddmmyy).
We have encyclopedias and dictionaries on all topics. They are an outstanding source of excellent information. Please ask for assistance finding an entry on the topic of your needs, or try some of the electronic encyclopedia options on the right-hand side of this screen.
Please continue your search in the online catalog.
New Orleans: a bilingual cultural encyclopedia = New Orleans: enciclopedia cultural bilingüe by
Everything you always wanted to know about the wonderful city of New Orleans: Folklore Celebrations Cuisine Neighborhoods Music History Todo lo que siempre quiso saber sobre la maravillosa ciudad de New Orleans: Costumbrismos Celebraciones Cocina Vecindarios Musica Historia A must read if you are going to let "les bons temps rouler" in New Orleans Florence Smythe-Macaulay. M. A. in Education. Una lectura obligada si va a dejar "que corran los buenos tiempos" en New Orleans Florence Smythe-Macaulay. M. A. in Education. This encyclopedia presents, in English and in Spanish, the traditional mannerisms and language that feed the soul and make the heart of New Orleans beat. The creativity of this book will guide the reader into an encounter with the exclusive terminology of the city. The author includes the historic background of the city naturally and with simplicity, without pretending to resolve the incompatibilities that may exist. Julia E. Patino, Ph D in Spanish. Esta encyclopedia presenta, en ingles y en espanol, las costumbres y el lenguaje tradicionales que hacen palpitar el corazon y alimentan el alma de New Orleans. La creatividad de esta obra guiara al lector a un encuentro con la terminologia exclusiva de la ciudad. La autora incluye el fondo historico de la ciudad con naturalidad y sencillez, sin tratar de resolver las incompatibilidades que puedan existir. Julia E. Patino, PhD in Spanish"
Southern Writers by
This new edition of Southern Writers assumes its distinguished predecessor's place as the essential reference on literary artists of the American South. Broadly expanded and thoroughly revised, it boasts 604 entries-nearly double the earlier edition's-written by 264 scholars. For every figure major and minor, from the venerable and canonical to the fresh and innovative, a biographical sketch and chronological list of published works provide comprehensive, concise, up-to-date information. Here in one convenient source are the South's novelists and short story writers, poets and dramatists, memoirists and essayists, journalists, scholars, and biographers from the colonial period to the twenty-first century. What constitutes a "southern writer" is always a matter for debate. Editors Joseph M. Flora and Amber Vogel have used a generous definition that turns on having a significant connection to the region, in either a personal or literary sense. New to this volume are younger writers who have emerged in the quarter century since the dictionary's original publication, as well as older talents previously unknown or unacknowledged. For almost every writer found in the previous edition, a new biography has been commissioned. Drawn from the very best minds on southern literature and covering the full spectrum of its practitioners, Southern Writers is an indispensable reference book for anyone intrigued by the subject.
Louisiana Almanac 2006-2007 by
"A million facts that range from merely interesting to absolutely vital." -- Louisiana Life " Having Louisiana Almanac] . . . is like having all the answers to what is happening in the State of Louisiana."-- The Louisiana Weekly "An invaluable tool to people looking to move into the area." -- The Slidell Sentry-News Known for its politics, its natural resources, and its colorful history, the Pelican State is one of the most interesting in America. For more than fifty years, Louisiana Almanac has been the authoritative guide to a million facts about Louisiana, and this painstakingly updated seventeenth edition consists of 720 useful pages of information for ready reference. The wealth of maps, charts, tables, and graphs makes the data and statistics easily accessible as well. No Louisiana business, classroom, or library should be without a current copy of the Louisiana Almanac.
Dictionary of Louisiana French by 
Lost Restaurants of New Orleans by These call numbers should help you find what you're looking for on the shelves.
280 Christian denominations & sects
282 Roman Catholic Church
290 Other religions
305 Social groups
322 Relation of state to organized groups
323 Civil & political rights
325 International migration & colonization
326 Slavery & emancipation
330 Economics
364 Criminology
386 Inland waterway & ferry transportation
390 Customs, etiquette & folklore
440 Romance languages; French
447 French language variations
460 Spanish & Portuguese languages
467 Spanish language variations
490 Other languages
917 Geography of & travel in North America
920 Biography, genealogy & insignia
960 History of Africa
973 History of the United States
976 History of the South Central United States
