American History: Indexes & Databases

AtoZ the USA is the most comprehensive US state and territory resource available on the educational market today. AtoZ the USA comprises 56 US state and territory guides of 146 topics each. USA country data covers 104 categories. An authoritative reference, AtoZ the USA combines detailed articles with tens of thousands of images, offering extensive coverage at affordable prices.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.

For searching and browsing American newspapers published in three centuries, America’s Historical Newspapers is the most comprehensive databse available online. Continually expanding, it offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.

The latest edition of the Bayou State Periodical Index is now available. In addition to current publications we have begun indexing certain core titles retrospectively. The database now contains 34,000 citations for atricles in more than 80 Louisiana periodicals published between 1960-2011. It is brought to you free of charge by your Louisiana Library Association.

Biography (Gale In Context) delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries, on more than 528,000 individuals, spanning history and geography. This database is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content that's updated daily. In it you'll find. biographies from award-winning Gale reference, multi-media content like videos, images, magazines and newspapers, current historical information and topic pages covering the highest-interest features.

Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets.

History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.