Delgado Community College Libraries: Steps in the Research Process: 4. Find Periodicals

Popular Magazines and Newspapers

If you want to search popular magazines, try the following databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This database is updated daily and features searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. Providing searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals, is another added benefit.
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window A complete collection of databases in all disciplines provided by EBSCO
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- This link opens in a new window
Primary Search This link opens in a new window Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

If you want newspaper articles, try the following databases:

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Alt-HealthWatch is a FULL-TEXT database of periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care.
America’s Historical Newspapers – Louisiana State Package This link opens in a new window For searching and browsing American newspapers published in three centuries, America’s Historical Newspapers is the most comprehensive databse available online. Continually expanding, it offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
- This link opens in a new window
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Biography (Gale In Context) delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries, on more than 528,000 individuals, spanning history and geography. This database is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content that's updated daily. In it you'll find. biographies from award-winning Gale reference, multi-media content like videos, images, magazines and newspapers, current historical information and topic pages covering the highest-interest features.
- This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Peer-Reviewed and Scholarly Journals

If you want full-text articles from peer-reviewed (scholarly) journals, try the following databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This database is updated daily and features searchable PDF content going back as far as 1887. Providing searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals, is another added benefit.
- This link opens in a new window
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Alt-HealthWatch is a FULL-TEXT database of periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window The PsycINFO renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating back to the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Religion & Philosophy Collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,100,000 records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 820 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 14,636 conference papers.

Searching All Types of Databases Simultaneously

If you want to search newspapers, magazines, AND scholarly journals simultaneously, try the following database:

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A complete collection of databases in all disciplines provided by EBSCO

next page: Evaluate Your Sources >>

How to Search Databases

For more in-depth information on how to search databases, visit our Database Searching research guide.

This guide contains video tutorials to guide you through the searching process, and will explain

database citations
how to find full-text articles
how to search in databases

Open Access Journals

Languages & Literature
100+ open access journals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.