Banner Image

Searching Ebsco Databases: Home

What is a Database?

  • Databases are collections of information organized so that the desired information or data can be retrieved quickly.
  • Databases are organized into records, which are then organized into searchable fields.
  • A record is a collection of related items of information treated as one unit. A field is a single piece of information within a record.
  • When you search a database, the search terms you enter will yield a listing of relevant records. In the case of a Periodicals database, the records will represent published articles.
  • Each record contains fields for Author, Title, and Date of Publication, among many others.
  • By contrast, a Google search finds relevant hyperlinked items on the open web. A database is a closed collection, accessible via field searching.

Introduction to EBSCOhost

Video Provided by EBSCO Support Tutorials via YouTube

Citations and Abstracts

Databases that include full-text articles take articles that originally appeared in a magazine, journal, or book, and reproduce them online.

A citation telling the user where the article originally appeared is given at the top of the record.

Many periodical databases with full-text articles also include an abstract or summary of the article.

Search Tips

1.    Identify your topic.

2.    List Keyword (s) or phrases that could be used to describe the subjects including alternative words or phrases that have the same meaning (synonyms).

3.    List any terms that could be used to limit the search by time period or publication.

Determine which databases may be relevant to your topic. Since not all databases tend to be divided by subject area, it is important to know where the topic fits, so that the appropriate database is selected.