Steps in the Research Process: 5. Evaluate Your Sources

Author

What are the author's credentials?

• What institution is the author affiliation with?
• What is his or her educational background?
• Is the book or article written on a topic in the author's area of expertise?

​Have you seen the author’s name cited in other sources or bibliographies? Respected authors are cited frequently by other scholars. For this reason, always note those names that appear in many different sources. (Another reason to use bibliographies in your research process!)

Date of Publication

When was the source published? This date can usually be found on the title page, below the name of the publisher. If it is not there, look for the copyright date on the back of the title page. On web pages, the date of the last revision is usually at the very bottom of the home page?

Is the source current or out-of-date for your topic? Some topics, such as the sciences, require more current information because of constant field development. However, topics in the humanities require more mature or contextual information.

Edition or Revision

Is this a first edition of this publication or not? If you are using a Web source, do the pages indicate revision dates? Further editions may indicate:

• a source has been revised and updated to reflect changes in knowledge, include omissions, and harmonize with its intended reader's needs.
• that the work has become a standard source in the area and is reliable.

Publisher

Take note the publisher. If the source is published by a university press, it is likely to be scholarly. Although the fact that the publisher is reputable does not necessarily guarantee quality, it does show that the publisher may have high regard for the source being published.

Title of Journal

Is this a scholarly or a popular journal? This distinction is important because it indicates different levels of complexity in conveying ideas. If you need help in determining the type of journal, check out our Scholarly vs. Popular Magazines research guide.

How to analyze the contents of your sources:

• Scan the table of contents and the index (if applicable) of your source to get an idea of the material it covers. Read the chapters that specifically address your topic.
• For a book, read the preface to determine the author's intentions.
• Note whether bibliographies are included. (As with books, the presence and quality of a bibliography at the end of the article may reflect the care with which the authors have prepared their work.)

Intended Audience

Is the information geared toward a general audience, or is the author aiming for a smaller, specific audience? Are you in the author's intended audience? Consider the level of information given in the source. Is it too basic or too advanced? Is the level of information appropriate for your research needs? 

Coverage

• Is this source in line with other materials you’ve read? Does it update other sources? Does it at new information? Does it sufficiently cover your topic or could it be more thorough? You should use enough sources to cover many points of view.
• Is the source a primary or secondary source? Choose both primary and secondary sources when you have the opportunity. For more information on primary and secondary sources, visit our Primary vs. Secondary Sources research guide.

Writing Style 

• Is the source well-organized and easy to understand?
• Does the author present his or her points clearly?
• Are the author's points well-supported?

Is the information given in your source fact or opinion? Typically for research you want sources that give factual information. But how do you tell the difference? Some questions you can ask yourself are:

• Does the author cite his or her sources? If so, can they be found? Or are the sources unpublished or obscure?
• Does the bibliography list several different writers and publications? Or does the author rely heavily on just one or two? (Be wary if an author lists 10 sources, but 9 of them are the author's other works.)
• Does the source appear to be well-researched? Can the information be verified by other sources? Are the arguments presented in line with other works you've read on the same topic?
• Is the author biased? Does the source only represent one side of an argument? Usually when researching, you want information that is objective and impartial. If you do decide to include an argument in your paper, try to represent the other side as well.

Check out our Evaluating Web Sources research guide!

Listed below are a few resources for finding book reviews online.

This tutorial from UC Berkeley shows you what techniques to apply and which questions to ask when evaluating web pages.

The following databases can help you in researching your argumentative paper:

                              next step: Cite Your Sources >>